I’ve seen several posts finger-wagging and castigating adults who “encouraged teenagers” to believe in TJLC.
As an adult, let me speak to this. I haven’t talked about “TJLC” specifically much on my blog, because I’m less about the C and more about reading the show as a love story, and hoping for that story to become canon.
I’m old enough that I never quite let my guard down enough to believe wholeheartedly. But I hoped, oh yes, I hoped.
And for you to tell me that hoping is a bad idea, and scold me for hoping along with other people? To tell me that it was wrong to believe change could happen, or to believe in the beautiful love story I saw? Is a much sadder commentary on your state of mind than mine.
I’m not going to accept shame or scolding for hoping or believing, or for hating the final mess of an episode of what was such a big part of my life. (And as @consultingcaitlin said so well, it’s not just about johnlock. The ep was terrible completely separate from that).
And let me add: I am a better person for having hoped, and for having shared that hope with friends. It has actually changed my life, no joke, and freed me to become my actual self, and not the self I was resigned to living within the constraints of “normal.” Finding hope in middle age is a thing I hope you can experience too.