Hello Alex. Do you know if anyone left still waiting something to happen? With any theories?

alexxphoenix42:

Hey nonny, are you talking about a secret fourth episode for Sherlock that was supposed to come out at some specified time to be revealed as needed after series 4 aired?

Sadly, I don’t think television really works that way. It costs a lot of money to make a tv show, actors and crew must be gathered, things filmed, and shows scheduled and announced. It just doesn’t make sense to create an episode that you just randomly throw up one day without any advertising or planning.

Benedict is busy doing the MCU avengers movies for awhile, along with a HOST of movies he has scheduled. Martin is similarly booked, and Moffat and Gatiss have announced plans to ruin, um reboot Dracula as their next project. Sadly, I don’t even see a series 5 being planned any time soon.

I dunno, friend, it pretty much looks like they wrapped up BBC Sherlock with their weird Mary-voiced over montage at the end of S4.

We can enjoy what exists of the show, and enjoy making fanworks, and discover other adaptations of Holmes and Watson, but I’m not really expecting any new content for this version.

As far as I’m aware people are still engaged in EMP, though more so as a coping method for s4. I’ve seen a few theories and ideas as to what s5 will be if we get it, nothing extreme meta length however (I’m taking m theory here). Check my archive of #EMP and #s5 for those posts

The general consensus it looks like is that s4 is all we’re going to get for at lest the next 3 years. Possibly for even longer if BBC Dracula takes off. And even longer if Ben and Martin keep getting picked for roles (which they will). Check out #bbc dracula for discussion about that. (Warning for wank)

Personally, I would say the show is done and we might be a one off special in the next 5 years (depending on the above). I don’t think we’ll ever get a full 3 episode season ever again in the nearish-BBC Sherlock normal-haitus future.

Sherlock Chat

artfulkindoforder:

superqueer-chapstickhands:

sherlocktextposts:

I made a chat for people who are still an active and positive part of the Sherlock fandom to join and get to know each other. 

https://discord.gg/U7B6TpP

The chat is in discord, for those of you who aren’t familiar with it, discord is online and free, so if you don’t already have one you can quickly make an account and join. 

You’re allowed to have your opinions of course but if you send anon hate or think that everyone has to share your opinions, don’t join. 

Don’t worry about being solically awkward or whatnot! It’s fine, we’re all probably a bit awkward.

@addignisherlock I messaged you earlier about this. I feel like you know more people in the fandom then me, so if you wouldn’t mind sharing it with those people that’d be great. 

!

There’s also @finalproblem ’s The Giant Chat of Sumatra (Sundays hosted by @cupidford )

And @inevitably-johnlocked ’s watchalongs

holmesianscholar:

marcespot:

loudest-subtext-in-television:

“I don’t know. I don’t know. I don’t know. I don’t know. I don’t know. I don’t know. I don’t know. I don’t know. I don’t know. I don’t know.I don’t know. I don’t know. I don’t know. I don’t know. I don’t know. I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓I̘̩̥̠̝ d͔̹̟o̤̦̮̼͈̹͖n͈̦̭͈̥̝’ṯ͙̼͕̖̳͖ ̲k̫̲̱n̬̟̰o͈͎̱̖̭̯w̼̣͕.͍͓”

– Martin Freeman

It got better with the gif

phantomrose96:

agriff11:

phantomrose96:

theofficialvincenzo:

phantomrose96:

I would pay top dollar for a comprehensive, source-supported explanation of how Superwholock vanished.

Like……..that was the core of tumblr in 2013. Its tainted life-blood. Its fetid royal palace. Destiel this and Johnlock that. Tardis-in-the-impala-at-221B URLS. Bendydoot Cucumberpatch and long analytical debates of which doctor is best doctor

What caused the end? What destroyed it? What series of events sunk this fortress? I’m so. So curious. This was so much of what tumblr was. So unavoidable. It’s cultural history. I want. to know.

So I’m not completely sure but I think you can pinpoint the disappearance to the month following Dashcon. Like, the entire year prior, things were going fucking insane; The DW 50th anniversary, Sherlock returned after a hiatus, Dean became a demon or something I don’t remember. Point is, the fans were worse than ever. 

And then Dashcon happened: All those people got together for a nightmarish event in the ball pit (for anyone who doesn’t know what Dashcon was, look it up and read any of the news articles about it. I promise, you will not be disappointed). 

Now, I wasn’t too active on tumblr at that point because of school reasons, but I remember finding out that the new season of Supernatural had aired on TV, and I saw NOTHING about it on tumblr. Not a single post on my dash. It was a miracle, but I was so confused. How had the whole fandom just vanished like that? I still don’t know for sure, but it was very shortly after the Dashcon incident. 

Then Doctor Who returned. New doctor and a new companion. Same scenario. Nobody said anything online. I was still big into DW so that was kind of a bummer but it was still astounding.

I went back online more readily and started realizing that fandoms, as I had known them, were essentially dead after that summer. It was like everybody simultaneously realized how toxic those communities were after they all got together in person and proved themselves to be a disgusting bunch.

It was the fastest and most unsettling jump in internet culture I’d ever seen. Overnight it became an embarrassment to admit that you were in a popular fandom. All because of fucking

“Superwholock died as a result of Dashcon” is the most fascinating theory I’ve heard in a while amazing

(And you know, seasonal rot and kids getting older and all that but s t i l l)

My personal theory is it was because of hiatuses and competition!

– Hiatuses: Sherlock especially, but the long Doctor Who mid-season
breaks didn’t help. People wandered off. Some of them to very similar
shows, like Elementary, which fought initial fan scepticism to
become THE Sherlock alternative.

– Fans became more critical. All
three shows frequently come under fire for their treatment of women,
LGBTQIA people, etc., and without new content fans had no option but to
rewatch and reexamine the same episodes over and over again. Their flaws
became more obvious on repeat viewings, and the comparison to new arrivals like Elementary didn’t help. I imagine there were other
competitors too, but one would need to do more research to see how
relevant they are here – cartoons like Steven Universe and Gravity
Falls, maybe? WtNV? OUAT and OITNB? All of them are much more obviously
diverse, so Superwholock starts looking bland in comparison. There’s also the quality-comparison argument (Doctor Who is not as good at plotting as a lot of other things), but I reckon that goes without saying.

– Fandom backlash! You either die a hero or live long enough to become a villain. After events like the Mishapocalypse and the infamous FANDOMS GRAB YOUR WEAPONS post Superwholock became shorthand for the most obnoxious parts of Tumblr and fandom, so more people starting distancing themselves from it (see also: how Bronies killed the MLP fandom). And, yeah, it all came to a head with the Dashcon Clusterfuck 2k14.

– Fandom Backlash II: Your Fave is Problematic. Every popular figure from Joss Whedon to Taylor Swift is eventually the subject of text posts and screencaps dragging their name through the mud. Steven Moffat, Benedict Cumberbatch, Martin Freeman, and Jensen Ackles (I believe? It might have been Jared Padalecki. I don’t really follow Supernatural) have all had plenty of this.

IN CONCLUSION: there wasn’t enough new stuff being made. People found their own new stuff, which in many cases they found more appealling. People became less forgiving of the old stuff, its creators, and its fans. Eventually enough time passed that they gave up on the old stuff completely, so when it came back they weren’t interested.

(granted this mostly comes under the seasonal rot and kids getting older points but I didn’t notice that until I’d typed this out, and it seems a waste to delete it now 😛 )

It’s like I’m reading the end-result of an assigned essay topic I handed out last night. I’ve forgotten so many things from the 2013 era you get an A+

unexplored-girl:

So today, @deerstalkers-and-jumpers gave me the brilliant idea of going to St. Barts hospital (where TRF was filmed) to see the graffitis that some fans wrote, and I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED 

I am tagging some people that I think might be interested in seeing this silly photo i took, if you don’t wanna be tag please tell me 

@88thparallel @rominatrix @unapologeticocdsufferer @wildspiritsneverdie @thejennire

if i’m forgetting someone, I’M SORRY.

love-in-mind-palace:

johnlockismyreligion:

starrla89:

fuckyeahfightlock:

willietheplaidjacket:

Part of the process for sorting through the survey results is going through the written answers for ‘What keeps you in fandom’ and ‘what made you leave’, so I’m reading every response individually to help create categories that each response can fit into (hence why it may take a while).

One of the disheartening effects of this is seeing the people who put ‘I don’t contribute anything’ or ‘I don’t write fic/draw art’ as a reason for why they left. 

If you’re feeling that you don’t belong in fandom because you don’t write or make art or gifs or other similar things, think again. Artists and writers and all other ‘creators’ need the fans who solely consume and share, the lurkers. You are under no obligation to create something. And being purely a consumer still means you can play an active role in fandom. For example, if you’re reading fanfic on AO3 then that gets logged as a ‘hit’, which the writer will see, which may encourage them to write more. Ergo, you’ve played an active role.

I really hope this idea that you have to be seen to be contributing something in order to be a part of a fandom disappears. It’s patently untrue.  

@starrla89 might have things to say on this topic.

I sure do! I used to struggle with this a lot. I have a few short pieces on AO3, but by and large I don’t create content. However, I have always been a very prolific commenter and supporter of fanworks. It took me a long time to realize how valuable that is! And at Sherlock Seattle last year, some of the authors thanked me for always being so supportive, and that meant so much.

I like to leave comments, and cheer on my fave authors, and buy fanart or fic whenever possible. That’s important! I know how much it means to the creators to have an appreciative audience, and I am thrilled that I can play that part in the fandom. 

To anyone out there who thinks they are “just” commenting or consuming fanworks, you matter!! Do you worry when you go to a movie or a play that you are “just” watching it? No! Creators make things for an audience. Without us, the circle isn’t complete. So leave that comment, buy that piece of art, commission that fic – we are just as important to the health of fandom as the creators are. ❤

Fandom is made by fans for fans.

This means that everything is created to reach people who read, comments, give a kudo or reblog.
Even if you don’t create anything, you are the audience of the creators, and without an audience, probably there would be no fandom (why should the creator write/draw something if it reachs nobody?).
I’ve always thought that people are part of a fandom when they like the show, the movie, the book, etc… whether they create something or not.

All of this