I’m curious if I’m ever going to stop being soul-crushingly bitter and angry about Sherlock?
I struggle with that too.
nope. I won’t. This is a lesson learned that left scars that will always remind me.
Yeah after Firefly and now Sherlock, I will be much more cynical about engagement. If I like it, that just means it’s either over or about to go all to shit.
Oh, I’m frustrated about Sherlock, Sleepy Hollow!!!! ARRRGH!!!, I mean, honestly, if I like a show, it seems to be the kiss of death for it.
Not real happy with modern TV writing these days. Quit trying to shock me, and develop those characters– and then FOLLOW THROUGH.
As we sit on the cusp of changes to the Internet, after your other activities to support Internet freedom, archive your
fandom stuff.
Save the electronic files of your favorite online fandom works. Consider print-outs of your favorite online
material. And save paper
ephemera from fandom events.
Why save? Because you put the effort into a fanwork. Because you may be surprised when a fandom stays alive for years, or gets revived, or when an academic asks to cite your work. Because it’s stupidly hard to find items on Tumblr. Because, lo, in ages past, many fandom archives have risen and fallen, taking favorite fics off the ‘Net. Because it made you happy, makes you remember. Because you never know.
What can
you save?
Fanart
Stories you wrote
Epic comments on stories you wrote
Stories you love that other people wrote
Meta and meta-related discussions
Translations others did of your works
Physical items: paper ephemera, clothing, accessories, art prints and drawings.
Behind the cut…saving from Tumblr and AO3, delving into lost web sites, how to save computer files for the long term, and why I’m glad I saved physical fandom items from 10+ years ago.
I’m seeing a few posts circulating about how it’s “unbelievable that people don’t think that s4 is fake, doctored, etc” because of “x, y, z reason”
And I’m like WOAH there partner. Didn’t we kind of all mutually agree not to think less of people for whatever they thought about s4? I distinctly remember posts saying let everyone be.
Not sure why now, months later, we are getting these kind of reactions? So many people had left because of s4 and this kind of attitude just keeps people away. No one likes having their ideas policed. All of us should know that by now.
please. please i am fucking begging you. just leave the house. go outside. see the world. look at nature. eat some grass. i dont care just. please. for gods sake. get off of tumblr.
Fandom historians are necessary. I’ve been one since 2014! We do get outside. And have lives. Just like any other historian for any other subject would.
all i remember was someone was going to eat a cactus…?
Lol someone was gonna eat a whole bottle of Ketchup too
Friend: But he’s the main character! He can’t die!
Me: Oh my dear God
Me: Just watch Sherlock
Me: Or Supernatural
Me: Or The Game of Thrones
Me: Or Merlin
Me: Or Doctor Who
Me: Or Torchwood
Me: Or Hunger Games
Me: Or Les Miserables
Me: Belive me, he can.