The floor is loving John Hamish Watson with your entire soul and being
The lying detective is certainly the least ridiculous episode of season 4 if you squint at it and plug your ears randomly while watching. If it wins an Emmy I will actually send the board of directors a strongly worded howler so I can slap all of them repeatedly with the DVDs of the other shows nominated.
So after listening to the interview three times, I’m left thinking about how it’s no wonder they were so surprised Sherlock did as well as it did. From their perspective, it’s basically a reboot with younger men used, new tech thrown in, and stripping out “the trappings”.
“We should do that, again.” (So what was the thing you were trying correct?)
“We gave him the hat by accident…He’s wearing it, because people expect him to.” (Ummm…ok. Wtf would Sherlock Holmes do that?)
“It’s about still preserving him as being the cleverist man in the world.” (Which is why we didn’t really get cases to follow, unlike in the Rathbone/Bruce pieces, and then he wasn’t the cleverist in S4??)
It almost seems like Gatiss is more an ACD fan than he is of Sherlock Holmes. His favorite part is the intro about ACD, not the stories.
“It wasn’t really a pilot. We had the idea, and they had a little bit of money left, so we made episode one.”
I was thinking the other day that I wished there was data showing the growth of the BBC Sherlock fandom over the years; has it slowed down, has it sped up, has it plateaued, etc.
Then I thought ‘wait a sec, I spent 4 years collecting and analysing data, why don’t I just do it?’
So here’s a short survey with the intention of mapping out when people joined the fandom, why, and what keeps them around (if at all). That includes anyone who has ever been a part of the fandom, even if you aren’t anymore. I’d be super grateful if you could fill it in and share, obviously the more people who fill it in the better the overall data. The only personal question is age range which is an optional question, other than that there is no identifying information required and will be completely anonymous.
like I get why people still roll with the ‘they lie!’ thing because they do lie and contradict themselves in everything they say but literally. what is the reason for this ??? there is no reason for them to contradict themselves in the way they do, there is no fucking purpose for it. we got this far and there is no long term plan at all so ….. I honestly think they have no idea what the fuck they’re talking about most of the time and pull what they say from their arses because there is no. ! reason ! for it ? like you still want to roll with the, they lie to protect their story but like……. what story !!!!!! there is nothing left and nothing to come and no logical reason at all and I’m fucking done here
i was trying to find this meme today so i could make this, luckily a version appeared on my dash
So the interview…I’ve listened to it and it’s literally like every other interview they’ve given. Since forever. Blatant contradictions and statements that make no sense.
It’s business as usual tbh and it shouldn’t ruin your day or how you think of the show.