There are kind people on Tumblr! A shout out to the person who took the WLTB url and saved it. Not sure where the troll went, maybe back to hell with any luck.
For clarification : My mom is a super casual viewer but she knows I ship Johnlock. After we rewatched S 1-TAB she low key ships them, too. (but she doesn’t know about tjlc) She doesn’t speak English so we watched it in german. Everything in this post is translated.
The six thatchers
Sherlock pretends he doesn’t know Thatcher:
Mom (suspicious): Why is he pretending?
Car seat boy:
Mom: Is this real? That’s the weirdest thing I’ve ever seen.
Me (in my head): just wait until you’ve watched everything…
Sherlock tells Mary how he found her:
Mom: couldn’t they have found her sooner. What did they do the whole time? Were they busy kissing?
Mary gets shot:
Mom: WHAT? Lets watch this scene again.
We watched it again:
Mom: Tell mevwhat really happened!
Me: This is what happened.
Mom: NO!
Mary dies
Mom: This was obviously staged. It looked like a play.
End of the episode:
Mom: Why wasn’t John in this one? The show isn’t called ‘Mary’
The lying detective
Mary appears on screen:
Mom: Not her again…
“but he’s our monster”
Mom: No Mary, you’re the monster!
“Is cup of tea a code?”
Mom: It is a code, isn’t it? Why should they mention it if it’s not?
Me: *dies*
John beating up Sherlock:
Mom (stops episode): John would never do that. Did Sherlock take that strange memory drug?
After the hug:
Mom: Did I miss something? Did they kiss? It looks like it…
End of the episode:
Mom: The child is dead.
Me: WHAT? WHY?
Mom: John imagines his dead wife and now his cjild conveniently disappeares when he’s busy?! The cild is dead.
The final problem:
“Welcome to the final problem”
Mom: It’s already satire.
Umbrella-sword-gun:
Mom: So when does the real episode start?
Patience granade:
Mom: The show is over. Either they’re dead or the show got so unbelievable they should just stop.
Mycroft reveals his captain disguise:
Mom: That’s too much!
Mom: *stops episode and walks away*
(She came back with cookies)
Every time Eurus is on screen:
Mom: I don’t get it.
Me: me neither.
(By the end of the episode it was an inside joke)
Sherlock hugs Eurus:
Mom: Why didn’t Sherlock ‘magical hug’ John, after Mary died. The whole second episode could have been avoided.
Jeepers, did I write this ask to myself while I was sleeping?? Haha!
Well, if that was the case, Nonny, then I wouldn’t be a fan either; I haven’t really watched a full episode since S4, and the only way I can even deal with S4 existing is assuming it’s fake. Just because you “didn’t go to Sherlocked” doesn’t mean you’re not a real fan, that’s so silly; Sherlocked was expensive AF. The moment you become a fan, you’re a fan forever, in my humble opinion. Just because I don’t write Sonic fanfiction anymore nor engage in the fandom, does that mean I’m not a fan? Hell no: I’ll still fork out money for the games if I have the system to play them because it brings me back to the good days and times and nostalgia of it all.
You’re still a fan, Nonny. Honestly, this stigma that “you’re not a real fan if–” is so ludicrous. You do you, Nonny, and you do what you have to to be happy. There’s no such thing as a “real fan”, just “people a little deeper into the fandom than you”. *hugs* Appreciate it for the GOOD things it gave you, Nonny ❤
Hey! I’m gonna throw in my two cents here even though no one asked lol. I’m feeling the exact same way. And what’s comforting to me is realizing that being a fan of something doesn’t have to be an all or nothing thing. You can like something and still criticize it. You can love a character and still recognize that they have problematic points without apologizing for them. You can love an actor and still say “yeah they did do that one shitty thing though.” Same goes with this show.
You’re not less of a fan just because you’re not throwing blind praise at whatever content gets thrown your way 🙂 there are people telling us to “get over it and move on if we don’t like it.” But I would argue that blindly stanning something no matter what happens isn’t what a true fan would do. True fans can still think for themselves and criticize and be upset etc (but maturely, of course ☺️)
And lastly, Id say that being a fan of Sherlock Holmes isn’t like being in just any fandom. Watching this show sparked an interest that made me go read the original books and watch other adaptations. I’ve learned so much from comparing and contrasting the different interpretations of these stories and characters. I love discussing them. These stories are about 200 years old. They’re not going anywhere. So saying that you hated s4, a series whose premise bore almost /zero/ resemblance to the canon mind you, is totally valid. Heck there are casual viewers who hated s4 for that exact reason. They’re not “less of a fan” now.
You’re completely valid in all of your opinions and feelings and you are certainly still a fan if you wish to be 😊 Lots of love 😘
ALL. Of this. SO HARD. Well spoken, Lovely!
Yes to this. I hate that you can’t be critical of things you love/loved. It’s okay to like something but still see it’s flaws.
I may never be able to watch any of the show again, but I can’t get enough of fan art/fics. And there’s so many versions of Sherlock Holmes. Lucky for us Mofftiss don’t own them 😊
shipping-only-reason added: You can be a fan of just one thing. From music to just the actor not the character. Hell just be a fan of 1 season or EPISODE! Where are these rules that you must love it all? And why would it upset you so much. It’s your opinion. Just own it. OWN IT.
k-s-morganadded: I also haven’t been able to re-watch other episodes, but I finally feel an urge to do it, so I think I’m finally getting over the terrible disappointment of S4. And yes, I absolutely ignore its existence because it was clearly made out of greed and boredom, not out of love.
I’m just glad that there are so many of us who feel this way – I mean, I wish s4 had been different, but because there are so many who were disasstified with it, we’ve been able to come together to enjoy fandom in a new way. And as @yorkiepug said we still have fic and art, and if nothing else, fandom has proven time and again to be cleverer and more creative than the writers of BBC Sherlock could ever hope to be! Keep writing and drawing and chatting and imagining all the different possible versions of Sherlock and John – they are what we make them and Moftiss cannot take that away from us!
Yes to all of this
I have Friday dinner-and-British-TV nights with two neighbours and last night they asked to watch Sherlock. I was really not into it–I haven’t watched any Sherlock since S4–but I was surprised at how quickly I was reminded of the things I loved about the show. I am going to go through the whole show with them and see how I feel once I get to TAB. But I am so happy that I can still enjoy the early stuff and the online fan works!
I am not going to give Mofftiss’ Dracula a chance.. Sorry that ship has sailed. For me they represent an unfinished promise in writing, not in Johnlock. And their treatment of the highly intelligent and perceptive fans was the last draw. As much as I still keep their first two seasons dear to my heart, their credibility is long gone. Again nothing to do with Johnlock and everything to do with the way they treat their source inspirations and anyone else who is equally invested in those.
there is one outstandingly good thing about s4 and that is that they specifically wrote in a memory altering drug and therefore i can say whatever the fuck i want about anything i want and be like, well you don’t know that that’s not actually true
umbrellaswordgun (mycroft’s obvious jealousy over sherlock’s fieldwork skills resolved in fantasy)
the urge to see 221b blown up (i.e., did they have sex on this piece of furniture? It Must Go)
literally the entire eurus character is “caring is not an advantage” wrapped up in a hideous personified package
which mycroft must then unwrap as he comes to terms with john and sherlock’s new relationship
and then in the end he relinquishes his creepy overbearing possessiveness and allows sherlock his freedom
sherlock got the play the cool travel handy violin while mycroft was stuck learning the extremely inconvenient to travel with piano. more jealousy, of course.
the molly thing, and this actually is serious, could be because mycroft views molly as easily manipulated and therefore a better partner for sherlock – he would be able to manipulate her the way he cannot manipulate john.
see? literally the more you think about this the more sense it makes.
the fade to black/sexy cutaway in tld is because mycroft walks in as they are kissing. it’s perfect timing!! and then mycroft is like, i’ll take that td12 straight to the vein, lads, and he wishes, in order, that he could: cope by eating cake, cope by shooting himself, cope by blowing himself up, cope by throwing himself down some stairs, and then cope by being someone else entirely