When all is said and done and the dust has settled after
series 4, I’m still left scratching my head over the character of Mary Morstan.
She just doesn’t make any sense to me.
If they made her a sniper, why wasn’t she a sniper connected
with Moriarty? That just made so much sense. WHY would a random ex-assassin
have been randomly working as a nurse in some clinic that John happened to be
working at by random coincidence. IF she
were the sniper assigned by Moriarty to
kill John it would have made so much more sense for why she was in John’s life
to begin with.
Why did Mary not recognize Sherlock when he showed up at the
restaurant? If she was a super smart spy type, she would want as much information
on John as possible when he entered her life. Either she was placed there to
watch John, or she stumbled on John but in either case, she would have Googled
what his ex looked like. Being completely surprised by Sherlock and not knowing
who he was would HAVE to be an act, and not a genuine response, and acting
surprised when she wasn’t would NEED to have a reason behind it.
WHY did Mary shoot Sherlock in series 3? It made no sense
and I kept waiting for some explanation – Moriarty was putting the pressure on
her to kill Sherlock, she was using him as leverage against Mycroft … something. In the moment that Sherlock
surprised her, it made NO sense for her to shoot him. He was clearly an ally on
her side. She left Magnussen completely functional with yet MORE dirt on her.
It never made sense & they never explained it.
Why did Sherlock force his heart back to life because his
inner Moriarty told him John was in danger with “that wife” around? If Mary is
an ex-assassin gone good and is protecting John then he’s really not in any more
danger than he would be hanging around Sherlock.
Why was Mary suddenly Sherlock’s best friend in S4 when she
shot him for no reason and then threatened him in the hospital if he told John?
(And then later of course drugged him to run off and do secret spy shit on the sly.)
Why did Sherlock seem to prefer Mary to John in S4 as a working companion? Why
would he ever have reached a level to trust her?
Why would Mary have really jumped in front of a bullet to
kill herself in that dopey aquarium scene? If she could jump like that, she
could have just pushed Sherlock out of the way. It was a senseless sacrifice
that made no sense.
To say that Mary is a sympathetic character that the
audience is supposed to like is a bizarre whiplashy way of covering up all the
inconsistencies and frankly huge gaping holes that seem to make up her
character. They did a bad job of writing Mary and nothing anyone says at
Sherlocked USA is going to change my mind on that.
It seems that Mary is the writers favorite character or something. However, as far as I’m concerned the show I loved finished some time before they even thought of S4. Sorry about that. Agree that nothing they did with the character made sense which was why, since S3, people, most of who seem much more intelligent and inventive than the actual writers, spent so long trying to make it make sense. But I’d like to know why they did it. Why did they invent her to start with? Why? Also, why did they think fans like me would love her? To me they had a good thing and simply ruined it.
I just met Mark Gatiss and I showed him my Sherlock tattoo and he touched his heart and awwwed and shoot my hand and his hand was warm and firm and then he tried to read my skirt to figure out which Sherlock Holmes story it was from and he couldn’t figure it out but he said it’s “definitely from the Adventures of” and then I asked him who his favorite character to write is and he said “Sherlock, of course” and I said “of course, he’s your brother” and he said “of course, he’s my brother!” But loud and snippy like Mycroft and it gave me life
I asked Moffit if I can be in series 5 and he said, “We don’t even know if there’s going to be a series 5” and I gave him a knowing look and said, “But there’s gonna be a series 5.” And he nodded and said, “Yeah, probably.”
Like honestly this stuff from Sue has got me just trembling with rage again, for the first time since S4 ended. Like somehow that ‘of course we’ll be needing two rooms’ comment in ASiP should have keyed the entire bloody audience in to the fact that Sherlock and John are straight as an arrow (someone really should have told Martin and Ben, tbh, ‘cause they were under the impression that they were making the “gayest show on television”–oops), and we are all a bunch of raving, bullying lunatics if we somehow interpreted the piles of not only subtextual, but also blatant, textual queer references in episodes 2 – 9 as meaning that Sherlock and John were queer, and then were upset and proceeded to question the queerbaiting in those episodes, as well as the BBC’s S4 marketing campaign, and demand answers?
Sweet person or not, that’s just a shitty and completely insensitive way of thinking, imo.
John and Sherlock later in the same episode: “are you single? Do you have a boyfriend?” “Girlfriends aren’t my are.”
Should have tried harder if you wanted us to think they were straight.
Honestly, if they didn’t want to make “that show,” totally fine. But when you admit you out queer subtext in the show for funsies don’t insult and shut down your fans for daring to ask about it
The thing that’s upseting me the most is: we’re not the ones bullying someone. DEFINITELY NOT!
Can someone direct me toward a post or two that talk about what Moftiss and them said at the con this weekend? Everyone on my dash seems to be talking about it, but I haven’t actually seen what was said anywhere.
Something I thought was very strange was the fact Moffat said he doesn’t understand why so many people think BBC Sherlock is over. I mentioned that the ending Montage of S4 made it seem like a good place to end a series – that it felt like it was a purposeful ending. He scoffed, not at all understanding that TFP could wrap up the entire show. It’s like he just didn’t *get* it. To me, it’s obvious why viewers could see a comfortable ending there and absurd that he doesn’t see it.
I felt like our roles were switched. I argued that the Montage in TFP felt like an ending, he argued that it’s not the intention of that moment at all.
Make of that what you will, i feel like i sometimes slip into an AU while at this con.
I am going go with my gut feeling that OUR BOYS have both decided not to come back. Aside from the butchering of Freeman’s character, I just remember Ben commenting in the bonus footage for TAB, that when they first told him the idea, he said he thought they had ‘lost the plot’. Can you imagine what he thought of S4? He’s not there, is he? Moffat is desperate for the party to not be over. It’s just too bad he crapped on his lead actors for some badly-written girl power.
People that are still using “They’re clearly joking” as an excuse for glib responses from Mofftiss–you don’t get it. The time for glib is over, and it’s definitely past time to stop treating fans like uninformed targets for personal amusement.