So glad it’s bullshit weekend otherwise known as con time lol. Already read some total bullshittery from Marks mouth about just being sloppy and making mistakes and like….while I’ve personally given up on more to save my sanity…I don’t buy it for one second this crew was that bad. Like because if all the things were legit mistakes then that crew has zero business working in the TV industry. Zero. We may never get an answer but I feel like every excuse they say is a giant lie. They can rot

welovethebeekeeper:

1895itsallfine-deactivated20181:

I hate them. I want to ignore it all. And yes it’s believable that they made some mistakes but for that many people to make that many seems ridiculous.

First it was a leak of TFP so they could blame low viewing figures on it. Now it’s genuine set mistakes or fans reading too much into it. They pulled a bait and switch, now it’s all about covering their asses. 

Clarifying

friskykatt:

Obv. I shortened the answers just to be concise, but I’ll expand on a few things that people are wondering about:

Skull pic – Mark was absolutely sincere talking about this, and this was a VERY casual fun setting (he’s quite charming and fit irl!). First he explained how the original artist was charging loads of cash to use his print, and they decided enough of that. They had Arwel make a skull, which was a print over a light box (blah blah lil pics of ACD, you’ve heard that before). When shot however, the other lights would hit it – did he say “oddly”? I forget the exact word. It would look too glaring, and like a postage stamp stuck on the wall (pantomimes that). So they changed it. Original question girl follows up “you turned it down?” And Mark replied “no, no, it was done in post” and a comment that “there’s really nothing more to it”

Budget: Mark and Sue both talked about how Sherlock was a huge hit, people think they are rolling in dosh ($) to get them made, but it’s the BBC, and it’s just not that way. Sue made a quip about how she’s the boss, but it’s not all in her hands (paraphrasing there – I have an excellent memory for dialogue, so most of this you can take as quite accurate). Arwen described drawing the “bond lair” – his words- and showing them the pics and then pantomimed jaw dropping astonishment from the team. He followed up with talking about how such a huge set was difficult to bring in on budget. In all the talks of $ there was a slight note of bitterness, or disbelief. SLIGHT note, they are British, but definitely there. I’m very sure they weren’t making it up.

Lights- I was unclear earlier on what Arwel said – he talked at length that there were 3 sets and a location every time they went down the stairs, so you’re literally seeing 2 different ceiling lights because you’re seeing two different sets. I mushed it up with the skull stuff earlier, sorry. He also spoke about how hard they try for continuity, but stuff just gets lost, and “every time you hand an actor a prop, they break it” and followed with a funny anecdote about Eccles and (forget) both IMMEDIATELY broke their first sonic screwdriver.

I’ll have more tonight for you hopefully! Glad I can share stuff with you. Do you wanna see more pics or is that boring?

friskykatt:

THE FUCKY SKULL!!
At close range it’s easy to see why the skull is so fucky. It’s actually 2-3 layers wide enough apart to let light in the side and front. Hopefully you can see here that the front layer is partially “burned away” and only covers about a third of it. It wasn’t displayed on the original light box here, but it’s very translucent. Would quite easily look much different with changes in room lighting, spot lights etc.

moonlightlock:

miadifferent:

isitandwonder:

deliriouslylazyafternoons:

mariowasd:

teapotsubtext:

they’re telling people at sherlocked that they got a new skull painting and that tfp looked like that becuase the show has such a small budget

They could have done an episode completely playing in the walls of 221 and still have a better result than tfp. 

And an island, a helicopter, a violin double, an explosion, a well, a burning house and an umbrella-sword-gun is not really a small budget to me. 

👀👀👀

If you can’t afford something to look good (especially in a show like Sherlock, famous for its style and design, its make-up winning awards) – don’t do it at all. Rewrite an EP if you run out of money, cut the special effects before embarrassing yourself! Sherlock didn’t need helicopters and explosions – at least the show I fell in love with didn’t.

yep.

the show we fell in love with, they didn’t want it anymore *sigh*

friskykatt:

I’m a wee bit embarrassed,as the leader guy said “no selfies”, which doesn’t mean “no subtle pics ” to me, but he clarified that to no pics for the second half, so I’ve just got these.

Una was lovely, just a ray of sunshine, and said that Rupert was the naughtiest on set, and would nudge her (she mimed falling over) and tell rude jokes.

Jonathan I asked if he thought Anderson had a mental breakdown over Sherlock’s death/return, and he said yes absolutely, and then implied -implied only- maybe some repressed uh…feelings for Sherlock. Said “strong feelings, right from the start, not just the competitive aspect, but VERY STRONG FEELINGS” and “well we don’t know what was going on there….” He also said that he imagined Anderson now as trying to get his job back, with not much luck.

Wanda Ventam was lively and sharp as a tack, said that Ben was moving in October and described their babies (laughingly said the 4 month old boy has “alien eyes” like Ben). Briefly described Ben’s daily workouts of an hour, and what Dr. Srange producers required. Her hubby was sweet but very quiet, and said that Steven had the idea for them to be in Sherlock but ran it by Ben first.

Mark said that he always assumed they’d do more seasons, and anything else was “click bait” that he never said. I asked him – nicely!- if he thought using things like the Garridebs as throw-away references in the last episode took them if the table for future use, and he said no, and that “the big emotional moment, it’s there” or something like that (he rambles a bit), so I’m not sure if he meant the hug, or something in the future.

Major Sholto was funny and loved being there, saying repeatedly that they were a big family, as it’s the same crew,writers etc on many shows, and so he was invited in to be family, and now the convention was like a reunion 11 thousand miles from home.

Sue was smart and warm, and described trying to get another season going as “well I leave it a while, then I start calling them and saying sooo when are you free?” Also said stuff she’s said before, I’ll skip it.

Mark also said about the skull pic that the original artist was charging them a fortune so they just had Arwel make them one. Arwel pointed out that their budget was actually quite limited, and that 4.3 the “Bond lair” was his vision, and had to be done inexpensively. Sue also made some brief mention of having a small budget, so this is obv. a big thing.

Andrew Scott seemed a bit shy, like he was pushing himself past it, or maybe rather private? Great Irish(?) accent. I asked if he was thrilled to be asked back for 4.3 and he replied oh god yeah, especially with that entrance. Interestingly, he said the pool scene was never meant to be shot, it was written off-the-cuff as audition stuff, but then they liked it so much they wrote it in. Moriarity’s original line was “ that’s what people do, they grow old an die and blah blah etc” but he (Andrew) shortened it with that amazing delivery and that’s how it stayed.

Ok, must sleep now but if I remember more tomorrow I’ll post it!

221bloodnun:

darlingtonsubstitution:

darlingtonsubstitution:

darlingtonsubstitution:

[x]

Okay other than the weird MMM… thing, what the hell is The Sign of three7? That’s not… anything? And when was there ever “good” fairytale? What happened to” good old-fashioned” villain?

Good morning. Anyone fixed the typo yet? No? Not a typo then? 

WHAT THE FUCK IS THE SIGN OF THREE7

Um. 

Hello.

See the listing of the titles – a total of 7 Ms.

Now Amanda’s not going to be there. Which leave us – yes, a total of 4 Ms.

WHAT. THE. FUCK.

But! Jonathan is…so…a little TEH anyone? ( x ) @darlingtonsubstitution

twocandles:

moonlightlock:

cloakstone69:

twocandles:

bug-catcher-in-viridian-forest:

twocandles:

Did they really rename one of the panels to “From Sherlock to Sci-Fi”. What the fuck.

And did they actually dump the TSOT panel completely for that shit?????

Or how was Eurus born with mind-manipulating powers.

Is there a description of the panel somewhere?

On the Timetables site for Saturday it currently says: 

1405 – 1450    From Sherlock to Sci-Fi
Arwel Jones, Jonathan Aris and Alistair Petrie discuss their time on Sherlock and endeavors into well-known sci-fi franchises.

Who knows what they’re going to cover.

Hang on, now. This is a for-profit convention. Hartswood/BBC/con organizers are making money off of this. Are the legally allowed to talk about any other franchise besides the one they own? Going off into tangents is fine, of course, especially if someone asks them a question at the con. But advertising it like this? Surely @Disney (or their lawyers) might have something to say about this…

I really don’t understand why they don’t keep the TSoT panel or, at least, why they don’t replace it with a holmesian-themed panel. Since they seem to eager to forget that S4 happened, at least talk about ACD? The myriad adaptations? And why not about fan works, as well?

It wouldn’t kill them to work a little on their own con, seriously.

Apparently someone with half a brain realised they couldn’t actually include the word “Star Wars” in the panel title… And even if they’re talking about it, what is Disney going to do about it, in the end the actors might just ~compare the two franchises and how it was acting on set or what the fanbase is like or whatever. 

impossibleleaf:

swimmingfeelsinajohnlockianpool:

sherlockians-get-bored:

What if Mofftiss aren’t lying? What if the budget for this series was lower than normal? Maybe that caused them to put less effort into the scripts because they knew they couldn’t afford any better this series.

If that was the problem why announce S4 for 2017 if they knew it was going to backlash? Yes we were going to grumble about it but what can you do? Also following the narrative you previously established doesn’t need money…

Or, if you’re competent at your job, you don’t put yourself in a position where you need a ton shit of money.

I know it’s a ridiculous concept but you do with what you have. You think you won’t have enough money for TFP? Well, you can:

Sherlock also makes a shit ton of money and also the average per episode budgets of $2.67 million (BBC’s Sherlock. Episodes per season: 3. Total annual budget: $8 million. BAFTAs: 3. Filming location: London). That in itself makes Sherlock one of the most privileged show when it comes to funding (or at least when it comes to the BBC).

Also, when you have such a popular and bankable which goes with events like cons, selling props for ridiculous prices, you don’t lower the budget of said show, you RAISE IT.

Are you trying to sell us:

  • That they didn’t use product placement and that no company proposed to give us props for advertising, like, oh I don’t know Mr. Blue Skull? You never once thought to buy one or ask to have one as a marketing move? That sherlockunravelled’s tumblr is free advertising done out of their good heart and not part of a marketing deal?
  • They decided with the budget they had to do two episodes with a relatively correct budget for a Sherlock episode, do an extremely good and extraordinarily expensive montage for Sherlock’s deductions about the paper with Faith outside, and just say ‘oh well, our crowning work the episode we are the most proud of since like ever will have whatever we managed to salvage?’
  • That they were so out of it buying a new lamp for that hellish skull wasn’t possible? No, we couldn’t go to TESCO and buy a new one on sale, too broke.

This is lousy work, it’s so lousy they should be hiding in shame for trying to sell us they can’t manage to handle their budget and whining ‘Daddy didn’t give us enough pocket money’.