DVD Mary hijacks my posts

myladylyssa:

worriesconstantly:

wssh-watson:

myladylyssa:

Has this happened to anybody else?

I mostly use Tumblr mobile (except for now, when I am typing this on a desktop). Over the last few days, I’ve noticed several posts (I think they were all text posts, but can’t be sure) that start with the post, which is then proceeded by lots of blank space (so you have to scroll down) and then ends with a picture of DVD Mary, smallish, in the lower left hand corner of the post.

I thought this was a clever meme, one that sort of undermined the original intention of the post (especially when it was a Sherlock-related or Johnlock post), but…THIS FORMATTING AND PICTURE ARE NOT IN THE ORIGINAL POST. If your reblog or refresh the page, the white space and Mary disappear, and the post is as it should be.

I discovered this today,when this happened in a totally non-Sherlock post/poster, and it made me check it out.

Um, so is my mobile app glitchy, or IS THIS INTENTIONAL?

This makes me put my tinhat on.

Tagging a few random people on my dash this morning (I hope you don’t mind). I really want to know, is this only happening to me? 

@wssh-watson @operation-norbury @inevitably-johnlocked @silentauroriamthereal @weeesi @mirajani @heimishtheidealhusband @cupidford @rominatrix @mild-lunacy @teaandqueerbaiting @seducemymindyouidiot @shawleyleres  @1895itsallfine @antisocial-otaku @beejohnlocked @toxicsemicolon @fuckyeahfightlock @chriscalledmesweetie @waitedforgarridebs @fleurdelis221b @pennypaperbrain @warmth-and-constancy @moonlightlock

It happened to me too! It is never the original post, and I thought it had something to do with @silentauroriamthereal ’s salty mary post–major thumbs up here :D–because afaik, that picture of Mary is used too? But yes it keeps popping up, for me underneath quotation posts only though. After the quote there’s a huge blank white space and DVD Mary at the end of it. It’s so creepy! I’ll try to snapshot it, but all you will see is Mary cos is keeps stretching across my phone….

Oh my God this has happened three or four times
Mary pls I’m BUSY

*snort*

I HAD THIS HAPPEN BUT WITH A DIFFERENT PICTURE! This sounds way more fun

“When a fictional character starts keeping secrets from the writer, that’s when that character becomes real.” – Steven Moffat

welovethebeekeeper:

Both John and Sherlock began the BBC AU keeping secrets from the writers:

Secrets Sherlock kept from the writers:

  • He was ALWAYS a GOOD MAN
  • He knew and accepted his sexual identity. He didn’t need anyone to help him on that journey. He is on the demisexual scale and was content to wait for the person that would spark his interest. He wasn’t a volcano, or a late developer, or a man who choose celibacy. And his sexuality was not a game to exploit
  • His heart cannot die, be burned out of him, it just suffers eternally, always in the hope of finding a safe harbour someday with John Watson 
  • At the end of the BBC AU, he knew that the writers had betrayed him. They had used his John as the weapon and given his enemies, Moriarty and Morstan, a free pass to write his story.
  • He knew the game, his game, his raison d’etre, was compromised and over by the time TLD began. He was in fact a dying detective yet again

Secrets John kept from the writers:

  • He IS the wisest man
  • He was gay, just in the closet. Always has been since he was created
  • He never wanted a child, or a wife. All he ever wanted was Sherlock Holmes
  • He loved being the narrator, he NEEDED to be the narrator
  • John’s reactions to tedious and annoying things about Sherlock, the words and responses created for him by the writer, missed the point that he adored every single thing Sherlock said or did. He never was an apologist, he was always a devotee
  • He knew he was killed in the BBC AU at the end of HIV. [TAB just a glorious moment during the throws of death] The John of s4 was the vestige regret, anger and sorrow, not directed at Sherlock, but at the creators for failing once again
  • It was HIS heart that got burned to a crisp, not by Moriarty, but by the writers
  • He ALWAYS knows far more than the creators writing the story. Sadly he knew the mistakes being made in the BBC AU and the inevitable outcome 
  • He and Sherlock running out of Rathbone Place was in fact them running as fast as they could from this mess of an AU called BBC Sherlock 

Maybe in future incarnations the characters will find justice, resolution and ultimate happiness.

221bloodnun:

may-shepard:

221bloodnun:

Amanda isn’t going to be there, but Jonathan is. Things are looking up @welovethebeekeeper @sherlockians-get-bored @may-shepard @swimmingfeelsinajohnlockianpool @yorkiepug

He looks like such a cinnamon roll in this picture!

He does. I wonder if, since Anderson ended up representing the fans in TEH, if he’ll do the same during this? (For those that don’t know, I still think we’re in S2 somewhere – either the pool in TGG or the roof in TRF – or possibly S3 TEH itself.) They also changed the topics! ( x )

@may-shepard @welovethebeekeeper @sherlockians-get-bored @swimmingfeelsinajohnlockianpool @yorkiepug @inevitably-johnlocked @going-to-my-mind–palace @wssh-watson @sarahthecoat @marathecactupus @teapotsubtext @princess-of-fireflies  @monikakrasnorada @artemisastarte @justshadethings

Well. This speaks for how the con is gonna go. But like..they got rid of “marvelous mary” were they gonna let Amanda talk to a bunch of angry fans?!?! By herself for the most part?! Why can’t the writers talk about her without Amanda?! I know the questions are prepicked with answers preplanned but like….why any of it?

iris-wallpaper:

johnwatso:

in light of series 4 and how a lot of us felt about it, i’ve been asked a couple of times if i was leaving the sherlock/johnlock fandom and my answer is no. a lot of people, myself included, have been anxious about the radical changes, though, and the fact that followers and friends and people we admired are jumping ship and sometimes it feels like posting that content is not a good idea because now that s4 disappointed us, the show has proven itself to be “bad” and continuing to love it/the characters reflects your poor taste/willingness to be queerbaited by the creators. other people are worried about their own changing tastes and their resulting declining follower counts. i just want to say that you should post what makes you happy, do what makes you happy and love what makes you happy. don’t bow down to pressure from anybody, least of all someone on the other end of the screen. at the end of the day, you’ll only have yourself to blame if you choose to post anything based on what would make other people happy. don’t feel bad about loving what you love. find more people who love it and make connections if you want to. just keep moving forward and having a good time 

THIS 👍👏

welovethebeekeeper:

1895itsallfine:

yorkiepug:

With each new bit of information that comes out about the Marylocked LA con the more I’m so fucking happy I didn’t buy tickets.

I think (and the con runners pretty much admitted this) that it’s going to be a massive empty failure. And god do tptb ever deserve that. Whatever the actual reasons behind their shitty series and shitty behavior, I cannot ever believe that everything prior wasn’t entirely intentional. And I also believe they meant it all the times they waxed poetic about loving these characters and how the central relationship is everything. So I have no doubt at all, whatever they claim, that it will be acutely painful to them to be surrounded by gushing Sherlollies and Marystans and Adlockers, who will pretend it isn’t all about Sherlock and John (and likely not even mention John at all). Maybe it’s cruel of me but I’m thrilled at the thought of that pain. And they won’t even get boatloads of money to soothe it. I honestly don’t know how they sleep at night, having made the choice to not only betray Wilder, ACD and the fans who loved them, and loved what they loved, the most, but horribly betray their former selves as well.

I support you in that bitterness!!! They deserve it.