love-yellow-door:

strawberrypatty:

misselizabethbennets:

I keep telling him, if he was any good as a detective, I wouldn’t need a new mantel.

Is anyone else mad we’ve never seen Sherlock “karate the fridge” (what does that even mean?) because there’s no breakfast?

My name’s Sherlock
and wen it’s day
or Tesco’s shut
or John’s away
and wen my brain
won’t shift one smidge
i get up late
i chop the fridge.

(Sorry)

a few things-

zunmo:

1. Queerbaiting is real, and has been happening since the beginning of this show, and I am not surprised by its continuation

2. I am (unfortunately) not surprised that a fanwork (which BBC Sherlock is) made by two middle-aged cis white guys did not speak to the needs of a group of diverse young people with a contemporary vision of what media can and should be

3. There is no reason why we cannot take the work we did and expand it into our own continued readings and writings

4. I have every confidence that in the near future someone from this community will produce an openly queer Holmes and Watson for the ages

5. What is special about Sherlock is the community around it. There are a hundred great TV shows out there, but Sherlock inspires readings and fanworks which are some of the best I have ever come across in my interactions with fandom on both academic and personal levels

6. Authorial intent is bullshit, the author is dead, and a text is what you want it to be. It is ok to be mad with the writers for stringing folks along, but make no mistake, this media belongs to YOU, not them

7. Please don’t delete! This is an opportunity to write the story how you want it to be told! Even if that doesn’t mean making things, it means talking about and interfacing with media in a way that values the things that you value, and changing the conversation changes the future

New Russian Holmes Watch Party

thediogenes:

image

I’m hoping to get a bunch of us together once a week to watch an episode of New Russian Holmes (Шерлок Холмс 2013).

The entire series of New Russian Holmes (Шерлок Холмс 2013) is available on YouTube with kickass accurate subtitles provided the likes of the amazing Spiritcc http://spiritcc.tumblr.com/ and Nitefiseart http://nitefise-art.tumblr.com, so you don’t have to worry about language or translation issues!

I’ve already watched this series a long while back and I can guarantee you’re in for some Serious Quality Content™, but I’d love to watch it with others so that we can talk about the episodes together!

I’ve created the form below so that I can get a better idea of what time/day works best for people. If you’re up for joining in then please vote for whatever suits you best!

No matter what we all decide on, there will always be a chance to talk about the series or individual episodes on tumblr! Either tag me #thediogenes, #spiritcc or #newrussianholmes or #nrh and myself and other fans of the series will reblog & comment on your posts!

Please join us for one of the most thought-provoking & unique canon adaptations ever made!

P.S. please for the love of all of us join in because Holmes is a massive nerd and we all need to be there to chaperone him or he may eat his glasses, bless his heart

image

P.P.S (click here for the watch party survey – you don’t need an email to sign up or anything of the sort, just stop by and give us your views!)

P.P.PS. if you’ve never heard of this series before then please check out this awesome post by @nitefise-art

Hi Skully! Do you know if Nattie is okay? Have you been talking to her?

loudest-subtext-in-tv:

skulls-and-tea:

Hey, nonny! Nat/Loudest-Subtext-in-Television is fine, and yes, I talk to her almost every day, as I have for…how many years has it been, now? I forget. XD

She appreciates you asking and she wanted me to pass along this: 

image

Hey yeah, I’m on maybe permanent hiatus and very busy dealing with my mom’s health (on top of my own) so if anyone has any questions, please direct them to Skully. ✌️