Keeping a character’s sexuality ambiguous when they are clearly LGBT+ is not clever. It’s queerbaiting, and it’s cowardly.
Tag: fandom
Contradictions in the creator quotes
I now stand firmly corrected in my misassumption that the big reveal would mean we would revisit the entire show in light of the ending and see an intricate plan. An emotional context we the audience were meant to miss. I was right. As were others. Problem was, it was a sister all along. Unfortunately the sister rugpull rather than a romance rug pull is the less convincing story arc. What we got instead was a finale that makes in retrospect much of what preceded it seem nonsensical at surface level if we accept the finale as the “solution” or the definitive story. How did we get that wrong?
I was never a conspiracy fan. It relied on too much “it can only mean one thing” from mountains of data. When the narrative and the claims of creators lying as a benevolent secret keeping was all that was necessary to see a romantic endgame. I opted always for a simple solution. The simplest most probable answer. And that was heavily reliant on my trust in Mofftiss as good storytellers and good show runners. That was for me my biggest error.If this was not “gay” but “trash”, how did it to get to be *this* trash?
How is it we were so wrong in predicting the endgame across various different theory camps of this fandom? What weaknesses on their part were we overlooking? Or not privy to? Or ignoring. Or not adequately assessing – so that coincidences were ironically a sign of laziness, or clever writing instead turns out to be poor writing – a series of tricks rather than a plan?Because the end result is simultaneously infuriating and “Meh.” Two things that should not comfortably go together. A rug pull should leave you so impressed you don’t mind being infuriated. You applaud and shout, “oh you tricked me! Well done! How DID you do it?!” And yet, here we are.
Some fans are deciding to keep the faith – hoping for a final rug pull that will show they really were as good as we believed. I’m not there. I am opting to make a deduction and coming to a probable conclusion based on the data we have. No conspiracy. No cruel intentions. Just a series of unfortunate events.
For as much as I am loathe to say this, I think from an executive production point of view, the absence of someone like Steven Thompson means the absence of a critical third voice.
I don’t know why he left but he should have been replaced by *someone*. Mofftiss were clearly given far too much credit and license. Where was the necessary script editing to rein in their now glaringly patent self indulgent natures?
Keeping secrets to the degree they have, and being allowed to, has been proven a big executive error. Because no one was able to say hold on, how will this play out coherently? Virtually every single thing that frustrates the viewer from TEH on right through to the last frame of TFP could have been avoided if they had had a 3rd voice they listened to and who had the authority to thoroughly critique their plans. They were over indulged in all the wrong places.TAB was a masterpiece but I suspect not for the reasons *they* think it was. They literally do not appear to have seen what it was they were writing. Or they did and defied the results on screen.
Every critique I have, or have seen, comes down in the end to that. Letting them keep secrets from their cast and crew was a glaring warning that there was no one with the authority or the necessary expertise on board to keep them in check and join up the dots.Moffat and Gatiss have clearly been working without an outside writer’s voice who has authority that they would listen to. Since TEH it has been a problem that only compounds. The errors build on themselves.
It resulted in a finale that many critics and fans are unconvinced by for *multiple different* reasons. It was only at the end that we see just how much they were driving the show haphazardly and possibly the wrong direction.There’s an analogy that comes to mind. One reason a manager is paid more than their secretary is that if the secretary makes a mistake their errors have less consequences in the grand scheme. You will likely notice their failings very quickly. The manager meanwhile has the ability to make errors that will not only have bigger impact but will not necessarily be immediately obvious. The more power you have the longer it will take for the true and full negative impact of your decisions to be realized. Because as a decision plays out it creates other decisions in a ripple effect that take time to play out. Of course you can offset this by critiquing the decisions before finalizing them, and thinking through what the consequences might be. If you don’t then what will happen? You can only trust the manager. You assume *they* have thought it through and assessed the potential flaws and risks and negative outcomes. That they have a plan to offset any negative consequences or prevent them from happening.
Making sound decisions demands either a high level of self-critique or a system that lets criticism in. To test your plan. To raise the issue of unintended consequences. Not with an intention of blocking success but to *ensure* it.This show was, I fear, failing at that far earlier than anyone really knew and I don’t think TBTB see it even now. A clear warning flag that many of us picked up on at the time was AA not being told Mary was going to be revealed an assassin. That was an error that not only impacted her performance (think of her as a secretary who realizing an error she didn’t even mean to make or even knew she was making then has to then self-correct on the fly). but it crucially should have signaled a much bigger managerial error that would have a series of far more fundamental negative results. That secrecy meant that no one else got to say, um… are you sure about this plot line? Have you planned any of this out adequately and considered the long term consequences on the narrative? Because if you head down this path you may not be able to undo it. You can’t just make it up as you go. Think this all out. How will this all fit? What ongoing story are you serving here? Where do you want to land?
But the manager was trusted rather than questioned. The only negative consequence was thought to be its impact on Amanda. No biggie. She’s a professional. She can recalibrate to accommodate the performance errors she unwittingly made. Tiny errors that Mofftiss assumed were no big deal, having incorrectly assumed that it would be a better surprise reveal if she was acting blind of what was to come. But that meant she was serving a different story than them. She had no choice but to. It put emphases in potentially the wrong places. Her fellow actors are in turn then reacting to her acting choices and she is reacting to them. But that notion that if they don’t know anything, or, “just assume your character knows nothing because it doesn’t matter”, is not how acting works. They didn’t trust her. I suspect they were doing this all along to their actors. Not actually trusting their skills or adequately hearing their own unfolding insights from inside the characters. So that the cast were acting repeatedly on false sets of assumptions. So too probably were the directors and crew. As a result, what shows up on screen is not what they all think they are making. They all think they are making a slightly different show.
And the widest gap is between what Mofftiss had in their heads and what was on screen. Next down the pecking order is what Martin and Ben thought they were doing. In light of TFP there are acting choices and editing choices over which take of a scene to use (going by the commentaries) that suggest there was no 3rd party with the authority to hear their conversations and say, have you considered that the actors understand the characters better than you do? If that’s true, how might they see the path they are on? Do you realize that if you use this take you are placing an emphasis you should then follow through on.
And no one had the power to point it out and not be shrugged off. So in retrospect, there are scenes that now seem totally overplayed or emotionally on the wrong foot. And the problem is, which ones were out of character in light of TFP? Because I think that’s up for debate.
This was a show attempting to be very clever and yet apparently was very much NOT thought through. The fundamental fan error was assuming stuff could not possibly be coincidence. Others went further and assumed not just endgame narrative but an incredibly intricate conspiracy that they were hiding in plain sight so the fans could guess what the end game was.
But that was never the only option. The one thing that kept getting sidelined was the possibility that they thought they all knew what they were doing but didn’t. That their plans were flawed. And that it wasn’t that they were intentionally writing a narrative that fans could subtextually read. Rather the creators could not see it. Which produced a ton of unintended coincidences. They wrote it and acted it and designed around it and scored it and could not see the wood for the trees. Because what Mofftiss said ultimately ruled at the end.
And that is paradoxically *why* the love story works. Why there are so many coincidences. Because the story we read fitted the rules of storytelling even while Mofftiss tried to defy those very rules. To insist they weren’t telling it.
They simply ignored what many others could see – the story they were telling in spite of themselves. They assumed their intent was more powerful a force. And in that burned the heart out of their own show. So that the finale focused on Sherlock and Eurus in a self indulgent Bond meets gothic horror genre fantasy when in fact this was always meant to be about Sherlock and John. Even platonically, they failed in TFP to deliver on that adequately. They shoved it to the side so it was virtually a subplot. The wrote the wrong kind of ending for a story they were all unconsciously writing, acting, directing, designing, scoring. The very heart of ACD’s stories. The bond between the 2 heroes. A love story, even if one that was limited in its physical or sexual expression.They tried to refocus at the end on John and Sherlock and in their fast cut blink and you miss it montage they made yet another massive error. A huge one.
They gave Mary the voice that rightly belonged to go back to John – the Boswell, the blogger, the original storyteller. So he could explain what he and Sherlock are. They did it in TAB. Sherlock understood that in TAB. That John’s public narrative is not the truth. That there is an emotional story the public doesn’t see. An emotional Sherlock the Strand reading or blog reading public doesn’t see. They should have let Sherlock’s intuition and unconscious insight be proven right in real life in the 21st century. They should have replayed that aspect of TAB in the real world. Instead, confusingly, they did the exact opposite – so much so John couldn’t tell if Sherlock was faking his own self destruction.
He couldn’t tell the story if he tried. He needed a second opinion. A big clue that they had made a mistake – the same mistake that led them to introduce Mary’s DVD messages:Mary was never the storyteller. But they tried to make her one. It was a very flawed decision. One of so many. All interlinked. And all ultimately as result of not thinking it through. They stopped serving the core story and served themselves on a personal fan boy level. They tried to be clever and completely missed the emotional context which they claimed was what this show was supposed to all be about. At a surface textual level. And a brief montage of the future feels like a rushed and inadequate pay off to that original intent. With the wrong narrator – with Mary as our intermediary – we are now inexplicably kept more at a distance from them than we were at the start. After going through hell with them.
I suspect that around TRF they began to lose the plot. They began to think details don’t matter. Even though they then discovered fans were weaving intricate explanations for how sherlock lived they persisted in letting details go. Waving it all off to please themselves and evade scrutiny. Mistake.
All the contradictions in cast and crew commentaries and interviews point to that. And fans, me included, assumed they were smarter than that. We kept trying correct the story to make it make sense by assuming they must be telling a different story. Problem was we didn’t give enough air time to imagining a trash ending and looking for clues of what it might be. We wrote far too generous meta. We gave them way more credit than they were due. They really weren’t the storytellers we thought they were. They were just fan boys amusing themselves for a rug pull that was in the end not very interesting or as original as they think. And certainly not groundbreaking.
Rather than correcting what everyone else got wrong, they hatched up an inadequate plan and made poor decisions. Everyone else put far too much trust in them as writers. And it all culminated in an ending that throws up huge retrospective questions about swathes of what preceded it. It potentially breaks the story so that a rewatch will not make sense.I see little or no reason to come to any other conclusion. It fits all the rules of probability. They just weren’t good enough writers. They put ego before the heart of the narrative and were indulged by too many others.
There may be other probable conclusions. But the least generous is the most sense making one to my mind right now. It requires no leaps of logic.
This is a wonderful editorial on the failings of Moftiss. The hubris, the nepotism, the lack of an outside monitor of the process, the inability to properly access what was actually happening on the screen despite their intents….excellent. Have you considered giving this a little “punch-up” (for the lay Sherlockians) and shopping it to online and/or print publications?
There’s something really troubling to me about the way Moffat wrote Mary and Eurus, and I can’t quite articulate what it is. Why does it bother me so much that Mary shot someone in the chest and this gets excused as “surgery” and Eurus can literally murder children and she gets a hug and dueling violins with big brother???
I need to understand what is going on in Moffat’s head so I can pin point the exact brand of misogyny that created this trope that appears repeatedly in his work.
I’ve actually been thinking about this because of S4 gif sets that somehow ended up on my dash this afternoon…
I honestly think that Moffat thinks that abusive = strong. Also, that a woman who is dom in unhealthy ways is sexy. Moffat’s ultimate wank fantasy was his Irene Adler who was literally a dominatrix who drugged the protag against his will, broke into his flat twice, once to return his coat and kiss him while he was drugged, and a second time to sleep in his bed and wear his clothes without his permission, but the audience were meant to read that those actions as evidence of cleverness, strength, and love for Sherlock (and yes, I’ve heard all the arguments against that reading, but given Moffat’s track record writing women, I do really think that was writer intent).
This extends to Mary, who constantly belittles both John and Sherlock, low key turns them against one another while trying to build up her own individual alliances, shoots Sherlock when he offers to help her, threatens him while he’s still barely conscious in the hospital, threatens to kill him again in the empty house, compares her husband to a dog, calls Sherlock a pig, drugs Sherlock when he offers to help her, denies her husband any say in naming their child and then gives their baby the name she was known by when she was up to no good, essentially painting a target on her baby’s back, runs out on her husband and baby rather than stay and accept help from two men who are pretty qualified to offer it. She does all this and it’s meant to be ‘cute’, the strong, sassy assassin, who is Sherlock’s pal, and John’s angel wife who makes him and Sherlock want to be better men (even though John openly admitted that he barely liked her when they finally caught up with her in TST, so inconsistent much?!).
You see this in milder ways with Sarah Sawyer in TGG and Mrs. Hudson in TFP. The women offering to do something nice and then withholding which is meant to be ‘cute’, or somehow demonstrates they are a strong woman with boundaries. So you have Sarah asking John if he’d like breakfast, and when he says yes, telling him he’ll have to get it himself, or Mrs. Hudson in TFP offering a clearly shaken Mycroft tea, and when he says he would like some, she says ‘teapot’s over there’. That’s cute to Moffat. To me it just reads as rude. Mrs. Hudson’s ‘Not your Housekeeper’ in ASiP was more what I would consider healthy boundary setting. And both actresses sort of managed to salvage it from coming off as really awful with their delivery, but yeah–not really ‘cute’.
Eurus was a bit of a different thing. A wild, feral, damaged creature who needed to be tamed by the love, forgiveness and acceptance of the male protag. She was the mad girl in the attic. She murdered Sherlock’s childhood best friend, tortured Sherlock as a child, drove a wedge in the family dynamic, burnt the family home down, put Sherlock through years of torment as an adult, as it seems she was behind some of Moriarty’s machinations (and was apparently a murderous rapist to boot). But in her case it was because she was just born bad. She deserves pity because she was born too intelligent for her own good, so smart she was wholly without empathy, and totally mad (don’t even get me started on the ableism here, that’s a post for another day). And she existed only to be the catalyst to Sherlock’s emotional growth. He must forgive her, and love her back to life.
I mean all of these are pretty common misogynistic traits. Moffat’s writing is essentially a misogyny grab-bag. Pick your misogynistic trope. If it exists, you’ll probably find it somewhere in his writing history.
I think what bothers me, specifically, is that this aspect of Mary and eurus in particular makes them feel like props rather than people.
I’d be hard pressed to find a male character who could kill as many people as eurus did and come out the other side as simply misunderstood – but with the ladies of Sherlock moffat is just interested in getting from point A to point D. Need to have Sherlock dying in an ambulance in his mind palace for dramatic effect? Have Mary shoot him! But she’s still good ol’ Mary in the end, of course, because women don’t have internal lives and therefore don’t get character arcs.
The idea of this being a wank fantasy of moffat’s seems pretty on the money tho.
The writers modelled the inner lives of their female characters after male behaviour patterns. It seems they thought: “Well, a real man would say ‘I take my wife home’, therefore a feminist woman will say ‘I take my husband home’ (like Marydid in TAB).” But exchanging the gender of the character uttering those lines doesn’t turn male oppressive patriarchal machismo into feminist self-assertion. That is a mistake many male writers make: They think, in short that, a strong woman will act like an alpha male. Except we don’t.
For example, a truly self-confident feminist character in the TAB graveyard scene could have said. “I don’t want to watch Sherlock do these things I find strange and disturbing. I decide to go home. No one has to take me. But he’s your friend, John, and obviously needs you, so I propose you stay and help him. You don’t need me for this, and I don’t need you to take me home.” How about something like that – if Mary was to be presented as a strong, funny, confident, feminist hero (with flaws to make her more interesting)?
But I have come to the conclusion that many male writers just can’t fathom how biased they are by their own gender. They think they can write strong women, because they somewhat see them as strong men with tits and a bit more emotions. Sorry, that’s not how it works.
Same goes for all the violence applied to solve problems – all those shootings, explosions and killings. A very male kind of conflict resolution. Just because a woman shoots a man that doesn’t make her strong or feminist – it just makes her a killer.
Perhaps a female co-writer could have helped… but that’s unheard of at Sherlock.
Though I never thought that we could lose
There’s no regret
If I had to do the same again
I would, my friend…Wrong ABBA song…
If you change your mind, I’m the first in line
Honey I’m still free
Take a chance on me
If you need me, let me know, gonna be around
If you’ve got no place to go, if you’re feeling down
If you’re all alone when the pretty birds have flown
Honey I’m still free
Take a chance on me
Gonna do my very best and it ain’t no lie
If you put me to the test, if you let me try [x]
Half past twelve
And I’m watching the late show in my flat all alone
How I hate to spend the evening on my own
Autumn winds blowing outside the window
As I look around the room
And it makes me so depressed to see the gloom
There’s not a soul out there
No one to hear my prayer
Gimmee, gimmee, gimmee a man after midnight
Won’t somebody help me chase the shadows away
Gimmee, gimmee, gimmee a man after midnight
Take me through the darkness to the break of the day
I was a fighter always looking for trouble,
and my life was so empty there was nothing left to live for
but then it happened one night as I got in to a fight
I could hear someone saying as though he was praying:Treat him well he is your brother
you might need his help one daywe’re really going to just have to resoundtrack the whole series with abba.
I DON’T NEED MY ABBA FEELS TO CROSS OVER INTO MY SHERLOCK FEELS JFC.
Kisses of fire burnin’ burnin’
I’m at the point of no returnin’
Kisses of fire, sweet devotions
Caught in a landslide of emotionsi could do this alllllllllll dayyyyyyyyyy.
I’M GONNA BARF
I’ll never know why I had to go
Why I had to put up such a lousy rotten show
Boy, I was tough, packing all my stuff
Saying I don’t need you anymore, I’ve had enough
And now, look at me standing here again ‘cause I found out that
Ma ma ma ma ma ma ma ma ma ma ma ma ma ma ma ma
my life is here
Gotta have you near
As good as new, my love for you
And keeping it that way is my intention
As good as new and growing too
Yes, I think it’s taking on a new dimension
It’s as good as new, my love for you
Just like it used to be and even better
As good as new, thank god it’s true
Darling, we were always meant to stay together
I don’t wanna talk
About the things we’ve gone through
Though it’s hurting me
Now it’s history
I’ve played all my cards
And that’s what you’ve done too
Nothing more to say
No more ace to playThe winner takes it all
The loser standing small
Beside the victory
That’s a destinyHELP I’M CRYING
Now there’s a shadow
falling over our faces
doubt forever in our heart
and in a while we’ll start
to pick up the traces
we won’t find the missing parts
Buy me a ticket
I’ll go to the Bahamas
I need a rest from
our petty little dramas
yes, I really doAha, mm
look what you’ve done
I’m missing all the fun
baby, you owe me one
Aha, mm
my turn to run
a chance to feel the sun
baby, you owe me oneOkay but what about …
You are the Dancing Queen, young and sweet, only seventeen
Dancing Queen, feel the beat from the tambourine
You can dance, you can jive, having the time of your life
See that girl, watch that scene, digging the Dancing Queenbut scroll up. i’m sorry. it deserves to be on here more than once, though.
@grumpybisexualperson, this happened long, long ago. Don’t believe Fernando was included, but hey.
Dusting off the ABBAlock meme for those who missed it.
do you remember how the 4th string was broken in that pic
I fucking hate them.
sherlock: where’s john?
molly: i don’t know
mrs hudson: wait, i got this.
mrs hudson: MY CAR IS SO LONELY JUST SITTING IN FRONT OF THE FLAT I WISH SOMEONE WOULD DRIVE IT
john, knocking down the door: WHAT
“Do you like that show?”
“I certainly enjoy the self indulgent version of it I wrote in my head after it began to disappoint me.”
Some of the S4 meta out there is wildly complex, and very impressive in regards to how deeply it digs into, and transforms the text to find meaning. But here’s the thing–Moffat and Gatiss aren’t that clever. Take a look at some of their other work. A lot of it is equally mediocre.
That’s my major hang-up with trying to make sense of S4. The meta writers are far more clever than the writers. Mark and Steven just don’t think that deeply, and all the problems with the writing in S4, are problems that also occur in their other work.
Furthermore, the reason Mark and Steven aren’t really defending bad press and fan opinions of S4, isn’t because they know they still have something brilliant up their sleeve that is going to blow the world away with it’s cleverness and political impact, but because they are arrogant and sheltered enough to actually think that what they wrote for Season 4 was good. Just look at Steven’s comment here on tumblr during the Pre-S4 Question Time session, when he said that he thought TFP was the best thing he had ever written, and he hoped fans felt the same. Yikes.
They live in a bubble of yes men, especially in regards to Sherlock which was their pet project, funded by family and nepotistically cast. They could pretty much do what they wanted there with no checks and balances. Season 4 was the result.
Mark is a really good actor but his work as a writer in Doctor Who leaves a lot to be desired most of the time, oscillating in quality. I think that he’s given Sherlock his best work because both TGG and THoB were brilliant (I don’t like TEH despite its johnlock moments).
Steven has clever ideas and he’s rather gifted, he’s written fabulous TV episodes many times (I even was a Press Gang fan when I was a kid, it was a fantastic show) but he seems unable to acknowledge his weak spots… He loves drawn-out and convoluted story arcs yet he never knows how to complete them; he loves big dramatic moments but he has no idea what to do with them; he’s become very lazy when dealing with character development. Maybe giving himself some rest will be good for him, as well as for all of us lol
I agree with you that they’re too self-absorbed to contemplate that viewers might be right and also very possessive when it comes to Sherlock.
He loves drawn-out and convoluted story arcs yet he never knows how to complete them; he loves big dramatic moments but he has no idea what to do with them; he’s become very lazy when dealing with character development.
Yes! Those are exactly all the bones I have to pick with his writing, and why I stopped watching Dr. Who, actually. I feel like Steven needs to retire. The quality of his writing has been getting progressively worse over the last few years. Or, as you say, perhaps he just needs to go on a rather long hiatus to refuel.
Though, his handling of female characters has always been weak and cliched, imo.
Yes, his female characters are terrible despite sometimes promising starts. When they’re not reduced to wife/mother, they seem content to let their whole world and identity revolve around the male hero. I’m sure he believes that he’s written feminist-friendly characters a few times in recent years, but feminist re/viewers have been thrashing his depictions of women since he’s been the showrunner in DW, because of the glaring difference between the way RTD used to deal with the female companions (keeping their family connections, their agency, their world without the Doctor and their original personality, while allowing character growth of course), and the way he’s been doing it (the opposite of it all)
i need more sherlock content on my dash does anyone have any solid (tjlc friendly) blog recommendations? @londonlock @obsessivelollipoplalala @pearlocked tagging you guys because i like the vibe of your blogs
When you remember mofftiss are going to say more things about s4 tomorrow








