S4 wasn’t clever. It was bad. A super-secret sister wasn’t a huge plot twist, people guessed it ages ago.
And listen, I don’t give two fucks about how they’re “the lying liars that lie” and they’re supposedly hiding big plot secrets. If your show doesn’t make sense & is no fun to watch, then all the subtext in the world doesn’t mean shit.
If I’m gunna compare it to a show like Hannibal, clever, full of twists (some over the top) but still so well written & entertaining up until the end. And the whole cast & crew are such a delight to their fans. That’s how you do it.
To blame the fans for your half-assed writting & saying people just wanted to bring it down because it got big is such cry-baby bullshit. Someone get Mark his bottle & blankie.
I was rooting so hard for BBC Sherlock & Mofftiss’ heads got too big & they let a whole fandom down. It’s very telling that fandom & casuals alike hated S4.
So don’t tell me I’m not entitled to my salt. I gave this mess my heart & TPTB can kiss my salty ass for returning my loyalty & fandom with the steaming pile of S4. And YES they do owe us, the fans, decent TV. We’re the ones paying for their crap to keep it on the air.
I bow to your genius and eloquence, @yorkiepug! “To blame the fans for your half-assed writting & saying people just wanted to bring it down because it got big is such cry-baby bullshit. Someone get Mark his bottle & blankie.” This is so perfect! I nominate you for fandom salt leader!
You’re really too kind. I’m just saying what I think/feel and whomever can either agree or disagree.
I’m not going to hide or pretend I’m not pissed. Seriously if folks wanna keep on believing and loving Mofftiss, that’s fine by me. But I’m mad as hell and I’m not quiet about it.
“I wrote it in two hours.” – Mark Gatiss
The best part is where he didn’t believe that the ratings for TFP were low. 😂 that’s some real deep “fake news” type bullshit justifying.
@yorkiepug I *try* not to personally post too much salt here (it’s hard) but fuck yeah did I agree with everything you wrote.
My first take on that Gatiss interview post is, hey everyone, before you get upset, try to listen for yourself. The post is not the interview, perspective is everything, and although I am really grateful to @lament4sherlock for drawing our attention to the interview (thanks again, sweetheart!), second hand reportage of a conversation risks invoking the telephone game.
I had a half dozen people tell me that Sherlock is Garbage, Here’s Why video would convince me that the whole show was, well, garbage, but I watched it and it turned out that the guy had a single point of complaint about how the show wasn’t one off stories just like acd wrote, and it wasn’t about the cases, which he found Wrong, but, well, we knew that already, and we liked it. (Somehow, he stretched this single point of complaint out over an hour and a half.) I thought Sherlock is Garbage was funny, but also a huge shrug, and it ultimately didn’t change my opinion about the show.
I haven’t listened to the Gatiss interview yet, but I prefer to form my own opinion, and so should you.
My initial response is, I can spot several blatant untruths in the summarised points–can you? I also in no way would ever expect a creator to talk about their work in such an apparently denigrating way? Seems…well, fucky is such an overused word, isn’t it?
Also, do I spy a creator confirmation that their Sherlock is gay? That’s new.
Anyway, I’m not making predictions and I’m not falling back on They Lie because who knows what they do? Just saying, don’t let it wreck your day.
@may-shepard I’ve listened to it, and here are a couple of things:
– Some of the things on that list were not in the interview at all, as far as I can tell. Was Mary ever mentioned? If so, I missed it.
– I didn’t hear any admission that Holmes was gay in TPLOSH, only that it’s his and Moffat’s favourite and that his Mycroft came from there, which is stuff we know already.
– He made some really blatant contradictions, like (1) the thing one adaptation of The Hounds of Baskerville got so horribly wrong was Holmes shooting up in a bathroom (?) during a case due to addiction, and in TLD they literally have Sherlock shooting up in a bathroom during a case due to addiction; and (2) A Case of Identity being unadaptable as a case, even though they did adapt it as a case in TEH and arguably it’s an allegory for the entire Mary/John/Sherlock dynamic that they’re presenting.
– He seriously suggests that if the series were 60-minute episodes, they would have had to do “bottle episodes” in which Mrs Hudson and Lestrade solve crimes together. This is ridiculous.
– A second reference to Doctor Who: Empress of Mars being a Bank Holiday adaptation, which it most certainly is not, although The Lying Detective is (I know this is self-promotion, but please read this meta if you haven’t already).
Anyway, as far as I’m concerned, this interview is just business as usual.
i may have misheard, but literally in the interview i think mark just said he doesn’t go back and reread doyle, and then after saying something else, he says if you’re stuck, yeah, i go back and read doyle like ………. hi
Yup, that’s exactly what he did. I listened twice to make sure I heard it correctly.
are you really going to look me dead in the eye and tell me you really deeply believe that John from BBC Sherlock was based on Bumbling Bruce
….all I see in the episode is them running away from Rathbone Place lol
Of course John is no Bumbling Bruce. But I think that with this, Mofftiss might’ve wanted to mean they’re making their Sherlock and John look about as married as Rathbone and Bruce’s seemed at their time.
Annoyed Martin said during TAB that using Bruce was a “brave choice” because I dislike Bruce version of Watson so much. Then he acted out the bumbling part, and I was ???
Martin does not bumble. The only bumbling is the bees awaiting in
Sussex, not Martin Freeman. And then they said it was filmed as a
beginning or an end, decided to put it at the end, but almost put “The
Beginning” across the screen, but it would result in too many
questions?? Dudes, we have nothing but questions, because our show is
struggling. @sherlockshadow
So after listening to the interview three times, I’m left thinking about how it’s no wonder they were so surprised Sherlock did as well as it did. From their perspective, it’s basically a reboot with younger men used, new tech thrown in, and stripping out “the trappings”.
“We should do that, again.” (So what was the thing you were trying correct?)
“We gave him the hat by accident…He’s wearing it, because people expect him to.” (Ummm…ok. Wtf would Sherlock Holmes do that?)
“It’s about still preserving him as being the cleverist man in the world.” (Which is why we didn’t really get cases to follow, unlike in the Rathbone/Bruce pieces, and then he wasn’t the cleverist in S4??)
It almost seems like Gatiss is more an ACD fan than he is of Sherlock Holmes. His favorite part is the intro about ACD, not the stories.
“It wasn’t really a pilot. We had the idea, and they had a little bit of money left, so we made episode one.”
like I get why people still roll with the ‘they lie!’ thing because they do lie and contradict themselves in everything they say but literally. what is the reason for this ??? there is no reason for them to contradict themselves in the way they do, there is no fucking purpose for it. we got this far and there is no long term plan at all so ….. I honestly think they have no idea what the fuck they’re talking about most of the time and pull what they say from their arses because there is no. ! reason ! for it ? like you still want to roll with the, they lie to protect their story but like……. what story !!!!!! there is nothing left and nothing to come and no logical reason at all and I’m fucking done here