If I was to jump on the tinfoil train… I would like to point out that John is absolutely into watching crap telly. Plus, he made Sherlock watch James Bond. And, John absolutely LOVES horror movies.
We know from TLD that John doesn’t sleep, not much, after Mary died. So how does he spend those nights, if not with watching some movies?
TLD ends with John finding out that the Holmes brothers have a mad sibling, who has no problem with straightforwardly pointing a gun into his face just because John looks funny.
And now he’s drugged up by that tranquilliser… and has a nightmare. And what would that nightmare be about? The explanation of how it is possible for the Holmes brothers to have this mad sibling nobody knows about, and who possibly is “locked up in a tower”, as John already had pointed out.
As many of us had already speculated during TAB, the equivalent to Sherlock’s gay fever dream would be John’s heteronormative nightmare. And well… isn’t this what it was? Plus, mix in all the horror movies you can possibly think of, bad cinematography and a weak plot because other than TAB, TFP takes places in John’s mind bungalow and not in Sherlock’s mind palace, you have to lower your standards a bit… After all, John as “no imagination”.
So he borrows from everything he knows. Horror movies. A bit James Bond. And all those quotes that he re-uses, the East Wind, the second DVD of Mary etc. In the dream itself, it very often is John himself who drives the plot (e.g. the deduction about the Govenor being compromised by Eurus’s manipulation), despite it being an utterly bad one.
I know this does in no way explain how John could know about Redbeard / Victor Trevor and Musgrave… but ¯_(ツ)_/¯ when Moftiss can fuck us up with plotholes as big as entire states just because they wanna have some fun…
TAB is Sherlock; TST is Sherlock; TLD is John; TFP is John. The cycle is complete, and it’s time to wake up.
OH MY GOD I LOVE THIS??? THIS EPISODE IS PERFECTLY PLAUSIBLE IF IT’S IN JOHN’S MIND BUGALOW.
Like, this episode being John’s nightmare totally makes sense? It’s super Bond-like, and John loves 007. No wonder he would imagine handsome Sherlock like a hot secret agent, magically changing in a few seconds to appear all groomed up with perfect curls again. He imagines everything is flashy and explosive because that’s how he lives his life with Sherlock, that’s the thrill of the adventure he loves. And of course, they escape from impossible scenarios because they literally had this exchange in TEH:
John: Sherlock, you are going to tell me how you did it. How you jumped off that building and survived. Sherlock: You know my methods, John. I’m known to be indestructible.
So he dreams an extreme version of that. Also, the whole episode revolves around trying to figure out Sherlock’s emotional side. Mycroft said “everything in here (in John’s mind) is about [Sherlock]”, is something John himself said in TLD. It’s John realizing he’s much more emotional than he initially thought, concluding that Sherlock has changed, that had once forced himself to put the lid on the Love Coffin but he’s now decided to give in to his desires, that he wants to have romantic love in his life. John imagined Sherlock confessing those three words to his mirror Molly!
OH MY GOD.
John’s mirror wanted Sherlock to say “I love you” first, Molly was a repressed version of himself struggling with those three words but finally telling Sherlock I LOVE YOU! OMG THIS IS JOHN TELLING HIMSELF HE KNOWS WHAT HE AND SHERLOCK “COULD BECOME” AND IT ENDS UP WITH AN IMAGINED MONTAGE OF THEM RAISING ROSIE TOGETHER OH. MY. GOD.
Do you see how this is the only way Saint Mary The Redeemed makes perfect sense because in his mind John still has a wrong version of her! Also, Mycroft’s characterization is perfect! John knows he shows off a façade of careless Ice Man, but pictures him as a coward at times but of course he knows that even when he treats Sherlock like shit he “actually is concerned” and it comes from a place of utter love and sacrifice for his little brother. Mycroft had just passed the torch of Sherlock’s protection to him in TAB, so he knows Mycroft thinks him a better option to take care of Sherlock. And John imagining Mycroft must have some sort or sword or a gun in that freaking umbrella because why the hell else would he always carry it around is utter lol!
Seeing this whole episode being in John’s head makes perfect sense, there’s so much more I could say but I think you get the point. My mind just exploded.
THANKS JACKY!!! YOU’RE THE HERO WE ALL NEEDED. IM 100% SOLD ON THIS THEORY. IT MAKES PERFECT SENSE. MY HOPES ARE SKY-HIGH.
The case of the disappearing glass on Eurus’s prison cell will forever haunt me . I need an explanation for that first. Forget everything . Tell me how the fuck is that possible.
There is fucking reflection on the glass when Sherlock comes off the elevator like what the fuck
@love-in-mind-palace my biggest issue was how did they suspend that sign in the middle so steadily without there being fishing wire/string everywhere
I saw some production stills where the sign had a stand. So yeah they edited the stand out of the footage and now we have to believe that the sign was just suspending in mid-air. I am making no sense because that glass panel made no sense. Really that thing is the silliest plot point I have ever seen.
even if they didn’t love each other like we had wanted, even if they didn’t declare their love and kiss each other we still got what we wanted. they’re together forever,no irene no molly no Janine. Just Sherlock and John forever, raising Rosie with the other characters coming into their orbit, and they’ll love each other until the end of time. John and Sherlock are family, and even though we won’t get to see it, all those lustful stares across the room or awkward brushing of hands when they hand off the tea cups, they are there, and they are happening. Living together in their flat, knowing each other and loving each other exactly the way they should be. It’s just Sherlock and John together forever. We were right. Johnlock was endgame.