Take A Fucking Sip, Babes

ladymacphisto:

toxicsemicolon:

teapotsubtext:

toxicsemicolon:

Elephants stampeding from our screens,
An iconic gay fairytale come true.
TJLC walls gleam with scarlet hue,
Mark and Moffat’s shatt’ring climax dreams.

Yeet! The stale dark fuck prince grave is dug,
Emptier than Vertue’s basement vault.
No stomach for unprecedented salt?
Take, please, a sip from Sherlock’s ”fireworks” 😉 “””mug””” ;);););););)

Impossible finale gone to waste,
‘R greatest love story never been told?
Etched to mem’ry till we’re grey and old,
A resounding condemnation of warm paste.

Suck a dick’ll help you come to grips,
So take five hundred motherfucking sips.

mark gatiss liked this post

i hope the BBC complaints department likes my potato

Hi holmesianpose! What did you think of the S4 finale??

holmesianpose:

Hello dear anon!

Honestly, I thought it was a fucking disaster. 

I never really believed that canon johnlock would happen–in spite of all the narrative cues/signs/clues in the show itself that pointed to it happening, and all the brilliant readings fans have given demonstrating its narrative inevitability–I just never trusted moftiss to do it, especially based on the tone of the show overall in regards to queer issues/identity politics/radical politics/representation. So I was always sadly doubtful. But even if I saw it coming, it was still so massively devastating to see them miss out on the chance they had to *actually* write something groundbreaking. And what’s worse–and I think more important–is seeing the reaction it’s having on so many fans who really hoped/believed/expected it would happen. This show is so important to so many of us and for so many people it was a catalyst for discovering their sexuality and also for finding a community of like-minded queer people in fandom. So to see such a huge group of vulnerable queer people have their hopes shattered like that… it’s awful. That’s what’s getting to me the most. It’s 2017, we should have SO MUCH MORE queer representation in media than we do and it’s heartbreaking to see so many people who actually believed that *something good* might happen have their expectations not only completely trampled on by the show runners, but taken advantage of. It makes me fucking furious.

Sadly though–none of that came as a shock to me. I had reservations about getting involved with this show from the moment I saw the first episode and they had their first NO HOMO conversation. I didn’t trust them to ever make a queer relationship anything but the butt of their jokes. 

What DID come as a shock to me was how bad the episode was overall (and the entire season to be honest), canon johnlock aside. 

What bothered me most was the invention of the Evil Crazy Holmes sister. Not only was it irritating because she literally came from NOWHERE after four seasons (which is really uninteresting as a viewer when it comes to watching a mystery show and trying to work out the puzzle), she wasn’t a real character. She was a Gothic trope, literally the Madwoman in the Attic stereotype (like have these ass-holes ever even HEARD of feminist criticism?????) completely empty of ANY kind of characterization or personality. She was just an Evil Crazy entity put in place so that they could force Sherlock through a series of impossible moral situations and torture him over the course of the episode. And not only is that SO UNINTERESTING, it is soooooooooooooooooo problematic when it comes to depictions of female characters!!!!

I’m so fucking DONE with the stereotype of the crazy woman. And I’m even more done with the stereotype of the crazy, serial-killer autistic person (or someone on the spectrum who has difficulty with emotions). Like FUCK THAT SHIT. That is not an interesting or empathetic or realistic portrayal of mental illness in any way. 

It’s just not fucking realistic. What five year old child has EVER acted that way in the history of humanity? NONE. NONE FUCKING NONE.

Ugh.

And then there’s the issue of alllll the abandoned plot threads and holes. Like… I’m sorry, why did Euros randomly break out of her super fortified prison just to come and flirt with John Watson on a bus for a few months, pretend to be a random serial killer’s daughter to fuck with Sherlock, pretend to be John’s therapist and THEN GO BACK TO HER SUPER FORTIFIED PRISON??? Like why. What is even the motivation for any of that?

Oh, right. I remember. She’s “crazy”, so none of her actions have to make any narrative sense–right. How convenient.

The whole episode just felt so arbitrary and meaningless, and also, implausible. 

Like, how did Sherlock, John and Mycroft all survive the fucking GRENADE that was sent to 221B??? And how did Euros transport Sherlock, John, and Mycroft off the island to set them up in her last little trick at the Holmes estate (what even happened to Mycroft btw?? Never explained), and like how could one person have the ability to mind control everyone she meets like????????? And why did they show us footage of the lost little girl on the plane if it wasn’t really happening and it was just Euros all along????

What’s more, this episode meant that NONE of the plot holes and dropped threads from the previous episodes were given any kind of resolution. There’s almost too many to name. But for instance, all that stuff with Culverton Smith’s memory drug was *never* used for any other purpose, after they made such a big deal of it! (And that could have been so interesting to explain so many things!!! Like throughout the series!) All of the paralleling between Mary and Moriarty never led anywhere (why did she keep saying Miss Me???? Why did she try to murder Sherlock TWICE throughout the series? Why did John forgive her so easily for that? Why isn’t the whole AGRA backstory more interesting???? If John was so fucking in love with her why did he cheat on her with random crazy sister on the bus???? Why did John and Mary have a conversation about how their child was Satan?? Why did Imaginary Mary keep acting all threatening and telling John not to tell anyone about her??)

Honestly, there are just too many to name. I really hated The Six Thatchers, liked a lot of The Lying Detective but now that I know so much of it was just Euros bullshit I like it a lot less, and although there *were* moments that I liked in this episode (Mrs. Hudson’s vacuuming scene for instance), overall, I thought it was over the top, self-indulgent, and just… so disappointing.

I did like that it ended with John and Sherlock back in Baker Street together solving cases, and was SO RELIEVED that they didn’t pair Sherlock off with any random female character (thank god). But that fucking scene with Molly omg what a fucking piece of patriarchal garbage. I’m pissed for her character that they did that to her. She deserved so much better than that. 

I know there were other things I liked… but honestly I’m too pissed and disappointed right now to remember what they are.

vanetti:

i am on the plane and thinking about where my opinions lie with regards to whether or not i’m ever going to trust again when it comes to something like this

and i’ll tell you that last night felt terrible. it felt absolutely awful. everyone was crying (especially me), the mood was sour, and last night was the death of a fandom era as i had come to know it

but do you know what wasn’t terrible? the three years leading up to it. the creativity that blossomed from what we were watching. the friends that i made. the confidence that i was given and the skills that i learned as a result of this fandom are an absolute treasure to me, and even if i were to go back with the knowledge that this would be how it ended, if i were also told what i would gain, i’d do it all over again.

no matter what happens in the coming days, these past three years have been, without a single doubt or question, three of the best years of my entire life. i just want to say thank you from the bottom of my heart to all of my friends and all of the people who care about me. i want to say thank you to everyone who has stuck by me even if it wasn’t the popular thing to do. i want to say thank you to everyone who has created transformative content. i want to say thank you to the meta writers, the academics, and the plucky old birds who have been around since granada days or even earlier: still hoping, still wishing, still waiting.

and i want to say thank you to the creators who are going to make it happen. mofftiss didn’t manage, but we can, and we will. mofftiss had their turn to play with sherlock holmes, and now it’s ours. let’s really do it the right way this time.

gloriascott93:

sylviaplith:

I still can’t quite believe that they wrote the beautiful line ‘that is the version that I present to the public. The brain without a heart. The calculating machine. I write all of that, Holmes, and the readers lap it up, but I do not believe it’ and completely contradicted it in the final minutes of the Grand Finale with ‘who you really are, it doesn’t matter. It’s about the legend, the adventures.’

Yup. I also don’t get why they didn’t finish with a post from John’s blog. An edited version of Mary’s p.s without the junkie ref and the legend stuff but simply the bit about what 221b is as a last refuge. And read by John as he’s typing and picked up by Sherlock as he’s at his laptop or looking at his phone reading – man, it could have been a beautiful chapter close.

I could have been vaguely content with the ending if they did the above. But they went with hollowness.

I have a theory.

fictionesquedreams:

Disclaimer – Now I don’t know if this is a meta, or just my head canon or
whatever. All I know is that I need to stop feeling like such crap about this
show so I can sleep tonight and I need to have my own version of the story that I can live with.

Would really love for my favorite tumblr blogs to read this if possible @quietlyprim @inevitably-johnlocked @skulls-and-tea @moriarty @loudest-subtext-in-tv @joolabee @marcelock and let me know your thoughts.

Note – I haven’t done spell
check or grammar check, my left wrist is in pain – haven’t typed so much in so
long. Also let me know where I’ve swallowed words that makes it hard to
understand what I’m referring to I’m so sleep deprived like…what. Apologies in
advance.

Let me start off with Moriarty is TAB – “none of it is real”.

It’s consistently been the bad guys, the villains setting up
our favorite pair – fooling them, harming them, pulling them apart. What if
this time, this time, for once, Sherlock Holmes was ahead of the
game?

Keep reading

atikiology:

don’t get me wrong i don’t believe that the gay subtext (and text) was unintentional or an accident or anything like that but i mean apparently mofftiss didn’t see what i saw which was the most beautiful love story of all time that helped me through 2 extremely difficult years, kept me going during the darkest of times, inspired me to start writing in a language that is not my first, helped me figure out my own identity and made my cry tears of happiness over fanfic in bed at 3 in the morning. i saw it and if they didn’t see it – their fucking loss and not my problem

sylviaplith:

Do not call me fucking stupid for hating this episode when I have spent hours upon hours of my life thinking and theorising about your show trying to make sense of the overarching plot line whilst you spew out this nonsensical garbage that has less emotional and intellectual integrity than the theories, meta and fan fictions that have been produced by fans on this website

skulls-and-tea:

stars-and-stripes-and-bucky:

sherlocksdarksecret:

skulls-and-tea:

WHAT WAS THE POINT OF EURUS TEXTING WITH JOHN

WHAT WAS THE POINT OF EURUS BEING IN THIS SHOW ALTOGETHER

The point of Eurus being in the show was to show the hidden emotional side of Sherlock. Unlike any other episode in this episode Sherlock solves the cases not because he is the cleverest man in the room (quite on the contrary as you already know) but because he feels. John survived because instead of being cruel to Eurus in the end (something he did in TST and the consequence was Mary’s death) he comforted her and held her. In this episode we finally saw that Sherlock is actually human and so is Mycroft and no emotions aren’t foreighn for them. They just choose to be the way there are because something happened in the past & the episode let us explore all that in a very beautiful manner. The fact that Sherlock chooses to visit his sister and play with her might be the best character development I have ever seen in any medium.