I watched TFP with a friend and we talked for a few hours afterwards. I’m not quite sure what to post here because I’m still trying to land on a reaction, but I feel like I should post something.
Most importantly, I’m really sorry if I contributed to the hurt and loss any of you are feeling right now. I know none of us are actually responsible for that, but this morning, for example, I was so utterly convinced the leaked episode was fake after watching it that I know I built up some of your hopes even further. I apologize.
A few minutes of scrolling my dashboard and I see everyone’s already pointed out the many, many inconsistencies (Victor’s dog bowl had me cracking up, honestly), the horribly offensive stuff (all the villains are queer, but none of the heroes), the truly cruel scene with Molly that destroyed her character arc, Hulk smash coffin, not only surviving an explosion+crashing through a window+two story fall but not being so much as scratched, the fact that they could inexplicably hear MP child!Euros on the phone…and on and on. It felt so disconnected from the first two episodes, and all previous seasons.
For me, it boils down to this: the first twelve episodes of this show had layers. Careful dialogue with subtext under the text, gorgeous compositions, stunning sets built with love and attention to the most minute of details, beautiful mind palace sequences––a lush Victorian London, even! And all of those things can be misinterpreted, surely. But god, I had so much fun trying.
This episode had one layer. For the first time ever, I have no urge to write a meta…not because I didn’t like what happened in the episode, but because there’s simply nothing to pick at. The lines were just the lines. The music, when present, was largely recycled from previous episodes. The concrete rooms were dull, the rest of the prison looked like something out of a 70s Bond movie – when the Garridebs brothers were dangled in front of the window and dropped, I half-expected Sean Connery to fetch them in a speedboat or something.
It looked and felt like a different show. I think maybe the reason I’m not feeling angry or sad yet is because I’m still waiting for…something. An explanation? A fourth episode? I don’t know. Something.
At the same time, if there IS something else coming, I can’t bring myself to get too excited about it. If this a trick or a plan or whatever, it’s not working on me. Maybe some fans will be psyched.
And if this is just it, well… I’ve had a blast with this blog and this community. I write novels, and picking apart these stories with all of you, talking subtext and metaphors and mirrors, has been incredibly educational for me as an author. I’ve learned what to do (and tonight, a heavy dose of what not to do!). I hope everyone here can take away something positive from this experience – I know I have.
Most importantly, if you’re a writer or an artist or a musician or any sort of creator? KEEP CREATING. We need you.
So like…Eurus can just control people’s minds? I legit do not understand. When did this become an actual superhero/supervillain show???
and yet suddenly: she can’t. She just plays violin now. And is totally safe to hang out with
Because of “love.” I’m honestly so so upset and disgusted and disappointed.
While I’m definitely camp “please stop. let this be it”, I have to remind you that Sherlock is a superhero show since Series Two, when Sherlock saved Irene Adler.
Yeah by cutting people apart not by making them do it himself with his MIND! They’ve made it very clear that Sherlock is a HERO and he is a HUMAN. that’s been a HUGE thing. It’s a tv show so of course it’s not all completely believable, but it’s always been centered in relative reality and believability.
Whereas now we have Eurus who can literally control people with her mind. W T F