also. seriously. say the BBC wants to prevent their most successful show from having a queer ending (which was, hypothetically, the plan from the start) so they go to mofftiss and say, hey, calm those gays down and make them straight, and mofftiss are like, well ok then, now that we don’t get to do what we wanted, let’s wreck our own show to the ground.
i’m going to be honest and say that this scenario is complete nonsense to me.
if someone took your own work out of your hands, instead of murdering it and doing all your characters a disservice, AND spitting the thing you initially wanted to achieve (in this case LGBT representation) in the face to make sure to rub it really in. you’d just refuse to do that shit.
you can’t tell me that someone can force Vertue, Moffat and Gatiss to produce and write something they hate and then have Cumberbatch and Freeman act it out, fully knowing that it’s the opposite of what they signed up for. It’s not like those people don’t have other career opportunities you know. They are some of the most popular and hyped writers, producers and actors of our time. Someone forcing them to run their own project into the ground, a project they poured so much love and devotion (and, as i used to think, hope for a revolution) into is fucking ludicrous. I’m sorry but. If it had been their plan from the start and someone had told them “you don’t get to do it” they would have said “ok fuck you goodbye you don’t deserve the best show of the 21st century anyway.”
nah i’m telling you. they’re dead serious about this.
moftiss sitting on a train: no one has told the holmes stories right. all along it was supposed to be that Sherlock was traumatized by his friend dying, and forgets his sister, and remembers his friend as a dog, OF COURSE we must make 4 seasons of this, but make the first 12 episodes have literally nothing to do with it for maximum effect, you know to make sure no one gives two shitts about the climax LOLOL also go fuck yourself
Moffat: “I’ve never seen Saw, though several people have mentioned it to me since the episode has gone out, and I haven’t seen any of those films.” (x)
YOU WOULD AT LEAST KNOW ABOUT IT OR THE 66666 FILMS LIKE IT
“Something terrible does seem to have happened. I’m thinking of the Saw franchise. The first was inventive, but the sequels were unbelievably cynical. I can’t watch films like [Michael Haneke’s] Funny Games because that is my deepest fear: finding someone at home who’s going to kill me slowly.”
so… did Eurus write the script?
Not that I expect it, ever…but what’s the truth moffat?
the worst thing is i dont know how to just stop loving sherlock. like the episode itself i can get over but the entire show and these characters and what theyve gone through and the happiness and the love they shouldve gotten, that they deserved, means so so much to me and i. cant just turn that off even when i feel so goddamn cheated
i want to burn all my sherlock stuff and never watch it again…. but I like it. I love it. It was my life. How am I supposed to NOT watch it? I just don’t know anything anymore…
ACD or BBC notwithstanding, the CASES DON’T MATTER. The magic, the spark, the entire fucking POINT is John and Sherlock’s relationship, the love they have for one another.
They wrote an episode where they removed that. They took the magic away and showed us what is left when you do so. It’s a nightmare scenario. It’s WRONG.
THEY DID THIS SO THE CASUAL VIEWERS WOULD ALSO SEE THIS.
THEY ARE PROVING TO THEM THAT THE STORY IS ABOUT SHERLOCK HOLMES’S HEART AND HIS RELATIONSHIP WITH JOHN AND THAT IT ALWAYS HAS BEEN SINCE CONCEPTION.
THEY ARE SHOWING THE WORLD THAT THE CASES. DON’T. FUCKIN. MATTER.
God I want to believe this! It’s such a great description of what happened in that episode.
It is what would happen (did happen) if the show had some sort of seizure just before the moment of the big reveal and instead remained hidden….
…OH! UNTIL IT EXPLODES ONE WEEK LATER IN A DRAMATIC CONFLAGRATION IN THE FACES OF ALL THOSE WHO STILL ADMIRE THE RIGID, SUFFOCATING HOMOPHOBIA OF MARGARET THATCHER AND EVERYONE LIKE HER.
Best argument so far for the existence of Episode 4. Thanks, @oxfordlunch
the thing is that we were never wrong. our reading of the show was the correct one, even until the very end. what else do you think ‘if i’m gone, i know what you two could become’ means. the evidence that we have piled up over the years hasn’t gone anywhere. we were right. they just, apparently, couldn’t or didn’t want to go through with it, and i won’t forgive them for that
“you were always the grown-up” LITERALLY WHEN HAS THIS EVER BEEN SHERLOCK
Literally two episodes ago they had an entire scene based around running joke comparing him to an infant, and used that running joke prominently in their promotional materials???
If there is no bigger rug pull here, dragging this episode is going to be an honor and a privilege and I will not take that duty lightly
And now, right after the opening credits of The Final Problem, we see Mycroft watching a film noir. Well, alright, he has to have some hobbies. Except, it’s not just a film noir, it’s a film noir that’s COMPLETELY MADE UP BY MARK AND STEVEN:
This is a massive Red Flag, meta within meta. To me, this scene is Mark as a writer watching a ‘film’ of his own creation play out…
^To begin with, he’s in his element, really enjoying the film. And what’s it about? Well, there’s two people, and they’re talking by using criminal language like “arresting” and “pressing charges”, but it’s clear it’s still a romance. #TRMOJAS ❤
There’s an even a nice dig with Mycroft/Mark mouthing along to the line of Adam and Eve, the representation of the “”sacred union”” of “”man and wife”” being “the beginning of all human misery.”
So, our film continues, and it’s obvious that the couple are looking forward to “searching each other thoroughly.” They’re just about to get the hell on with it, when the tape is replaced by the Holmes’ childhood/creepy I’M BACK video.
Guess who doesn’t look happy about that:
The entire tape burns, we don’t get to see the ending of the film:
It’s a Nightmare!
So opens Mycroft’s ‘Horror Movie’ moment. Except, the real horror movie is already happening: the love story of both the film noir and John and Sherlock has been interrupted. See @thegamesafucky‘s post on The Final Problem as one big interruption.
Viewing Mark as Mycroft here, I wonder if this could also be his horror at The Private Life of Sherlock Holmes losing its most key, revealing romantic scenes?
The audience is not meant to like it at all. Even those who weren’t aware they were watching a love story are aware that’s something’s up, something’s crashed and burned. Give us back the real tape, the real show! they’ll demand, and then soon they’ll release that the ‘real tape’ was a romance all along.
The movie will continue on and get its happy ending. We just need our ‘lights up’ moment, where the truth is revealed: